We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family-owned Italian restaurant”

Amarcord Italian Restaurant
Ranked #3,085 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$24 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Level Contributor
249 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great family-owned Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Solo lunch here the other day. Sadly I didn't have much time so I went for the Salata della Siciliana - leaves, tomatoes, olives, peppers, anchovies etc, all very fresh, and just the thing for a warm day. I also had garlic bread and a fine glass of house red.
The restaurant was not busy, and the service was friendly and good.
This restaurant deserves more business - tell your friends!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    72
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
200 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Italian food.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been eating at Verdi (across the street from Amarcord) for years and decided to try a new experience. The restaurant did very well but I was disappointed by an upcharge on the dish I ordered. The food was good and overall I would recommend the restaurant for a pleasant dinner at reasonable prices.
We had pizza and a veal dish. The pizza was large and well done served hot off of the oven.
The veal was thin and tender. In place of vegetables and potatoes they indicated I could substitute pasta with no charge, but when the bill came it had a $7 upcharge (he pasta was very good! But not that good).
The house wine was good but a half bottle was not one of the menu choices so you have to order by the glass or (disaster) order a whole bottle.
I would return to this restaurant but would be more careful about the charges.
They also round the check up or down to the nearest pound (which I don't object to but others have expressed concern).
Good Italian near Russell Square.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good reliable basics for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to the restaurant because it was a few steps from our hotel, and returned for a second meal because it impressed. Risotto is very good,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tastybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You can taste the love in the food”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I met my husband here for lunch as he was close by on business. I had the Bruschetta as a starter It was beautifully fresh with just a touch of red onion and lovely olive oil. You could taste that the love had been put into it. My main was the chicken with mushroom cream sauce and it was truly divine. I had a side of the deep fried zucchini it was all excellent and brilliant value. The service is humble, non intrusive and efficient. I am genuinely not a relative of the owners but I would definitely go back... Jamie Oliver should try it... he would poach the chef!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Southampton Row Italian Restuarant”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This bit of London near the British Museum and the University of London has a number of restaurants, all of which we have sampled during the past 8 years. While not as well established as Denise's next door and Verdi across the street the owner and his manager, Tony, have turned it into a very comfortable and reasonable alternative. My wife and I sampled a number of selections during our recent two-week stay in London and each was well prepared and reasonably priced. We had pizza, pasta and chicken as well as other selections and I would not hesitate to return. Food prices in London are generally through the roof, but Amarcord offers great value and good food for the money. We would definitely recommend this comfortable Italian restaurant to any of you in the area as a good place to eat and rest your feet after a long day trudging the museums and streets of London.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trawler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amarcord Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amarcord Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing