We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nolias11 - CLOSED

Nolias11
Price range: US$16 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: So you're walking along in Soulful Southwark...Maybe you've just been to the Tate Modern or London Eye? Maybe you've just finished work? Maybe you've met Nolia herself and have come back for more?! Whatever you've been doing with your day, walking along Stamford Street will feel like coming home to everyone. As you approach number 56, the smell of Mammas Malaysian home cooking lovingly paired with the fines of high-class French cuisine, invites you through our doors to be spoilt... Live Music....music with no rules or boundaries, reflects your need to unwind and be free of your busy day. Inside, our walls reflect our love for Art, Music, and Creativity; our floors will be worn in with many fun and eclectic nights. So...as a bespoke cocktail caresses your lips, we say: 'Apa Kabar, and Welcome... to Nolias 11' We at Nolia's are a family run business. Just like our venue, we're Whacky, Wild, and Creative, but also Focused, Informed, and Driven. All with a wealth experience at the top of their fields, our mission is to make your visits memorable.The Conservatory: Restaurant offering Malay and French cuisine overseen by Head Chef Jean-Yves Guiomar and Bar with cocktails created by the Master Mixologist Tim Halilaj. Music Room:Intimate and soulful entertainment space seating around 50 guests. Fully equipped with its own stage, lighting, piano and sound system. Nolias 11 Art Gallery:Weekly changing Art exhibitions showcasing works from undergraduates and established artists.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I went to celebrate a friends birthday and was told they have live music there. I was looking forward to this. When we got there, we taken to to the eating area upstairs where there is a lovely glass ceiling, lovely fans and nice pictures on the wall. The waitresses that served us were very friendly. The menu is limited but I think thats better as you know they cook a few fresh dishes everyday rather than offering pages of un-fresh foods. I ordered the chicken satay for starters. This was very small and was average in taste. For mains I ordered nasi noreng, this was better. There was no live music as the restaurant downstairs was booked for a private party, had we known this in advance we would not have come, so this was a let down. So overall, service and decor is great, food is average. I might go back to hear the music but not rushing back for the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agoangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Friday night visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

after work for drinks and jazz. Venue looks good and the service was excellent, though I agree with a previous reviewer my guest and I couldn't stop laughing about the garden furniture in the restaruant! We had eaten a bit before so can only really comment on the drinks which were well made though a bit expensive for the venue and location. Jazz performance wasn't to my taste but the audience seemed to enjoy themeselves though the place started to empty around 11pm. Pleasant venue to relax in after work and my only recommendation would be to lower drink prices and invest in some proper dining tables!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CityBoy_82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You just can't buy this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Guilty of loving the independent restaurants in London well this one made me very guilty! We met the owner Jade who is lovely the cocktails to start I had espresso martini in a tea cup on a glass stem great touch had starters of chicken wing and king prawns with homemade dips follow by chilli chicken the sauce was amazing! Next turn up later as they have live music and jazz downstairs

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Englishmanabord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An Eclectic find in SE1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Is it a speakeasy?

Or a Malaysian restaurant?

Or an intimate jazz club?

Or a bijou art gallery?

Or a cocktail bar specialist?

Well, all of these; newly opened and a real find for this part of the City. So why not try everything? A cocktail when you arrive, a supper and then the jazz downstairs, and a cocktail or two, or three to finish the night.

The welcome is very personal and the attention is personal too.

Everything is minimalist, except the welcome and personal attention of the proprietors, you feel as though they were friends you had dropped in to see:

It is a small restaurant with minimalist furniture, with a small wine list and a small menu - all good. The cocktail list is not pages of hype, but all the classics are here, amongst which you will find new versions of old friends done just a little differently. The jazz club downstairs is small too, cosy, intimate and with a super resident trio with guest artists. But oh how good they were - very good.

Cool music after super food with great drinks.

The cuisine was praiseworthy, Malaysian, tasty and inexpensive. The cocktails were priced at about what you would expect for a cocktail. The wine list prices are modest. In fact, the cost of the cocktails was the greatest part of our bill, but you can have a great evening on the wine at the risk of missing out on one of the great attractions of Nolias 11.

The cost of the jazz was pretty minimalist too, a mere £6.

This place is no rip off, rather the reverse. I wonder how they can make it pay at these rates, let us hope they can.

Anyway, it is a great find in this part of London and deserves support.

I hesitate to praise it too much in case it becomes impossible to get in at some near future date. It is not sumptuous, or peopled with celebs, or grandiose, it is a very eclectic and pleasant experience and would make a great drop in place at the end of an evening in the vicinity, say the South Bank complex. There is not that much to choose this side of the river, so Nolias 11 is very welcome.

What a find!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Malaysian Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

As lovers of Malaysian food we were quite excited to see that there was a Malaysian restaurant close to home that we hadn't tried - particularly as it is hard to find good Malaysian food in London. There are a handful of places that do it well, and Nolia's, unfortunately, based on this visit, is not one of them.

The venue: There is a jazz club downstairs and a restaurant upstairs. The jazz venue looked great – exactly how a basement jazz club should look. There was a set playing whilst we were eating upstairs, and there were great sounds coming out of the room – we will definitely consider going back to try out the jazz basement. The decor in the restaurant is basically garden furniture. Nice in a pub garden on a restaurant terrace in the summer, but a little out of place here. It's great to see artist students / young artists given display space, so that aspect was pleasing and it creates a talking point.

The food: Not good, I'm afraid. The menu is very limited – 5 starters and 5 main courses, all apparently cooked by a Malaysian (presumably Nolia) so we had high hopes that they would each be fine examples of Malaysian cooking. Disappointment was not long in coming.

The starters:

Gado Gado (which is Indonesian, not Malaysian, but very nice if done correctly) was a bowl of thinly sliced raw veg, including lots of broccoli for some reason, sitting in a smear of very thin and fairly tasteless peanut sauce. This dish should be made with quite chunk veg pieces, which should be boiled – not raw – and thickly coated in a thick peanut sauce and should ideally include some pieces of tofu and maybe an egg. Everything needed is available in asian/chinese supermarkets and from wholesalers, so why this poor imitation using raw western veg and thin sauce?

Chicken Satay should be packed with flavour. It needs marinating for hours and the chicken should be cut into thin strips and then threaded onto a skewer before being chargrilled. These were too-thick pieces of chicken, flattened and pushed onto skewers. They were too small and bland – no hint of long marintating – and were almost certainly cooked under a conventional grill, so there was no charring. The accompanying peanut sauce was far too thin and lacking in depth of flavour. And at £6 for 3 very small pieces of chicken, that is a woefully overpriced and underwhelming dish.

The Mains:

Daging Kichap: which if you are Malaysian you would expect to be beef – but this was the chicken version of the dish, which on a menu in Malaysia would always be called Ayam Kicap. Yes, that is nit-picking, but putting that aside, this was just bits of chicken that again did not taste as if they had been marinated for any length of time, in a sauce that was far too thin and way too heavy on the soy sauce.

Daging Masak Serai: Descibed as ‘Aberdeen and Angus’ (sic) beef marinated in turmeric, shallots,ginger, cooked in coconut sauce with lemongrass and galangang (sic). Again the meat did not taste as if it had been marinated, and nor did it have the texture or flavour of prime Aberdeen Angus. The sauce was way too thin with barely a hint of coconut, lemongrass or galangal.

To b brtually honest, we both thought that the mains tasted as if they had come out of a pre-packed supermarket ready meal.

The other disappointment occured when we explained to the waiter that the food had not been to our liking and was not, in our view, authentically Malaysian. He expressed surprise as the chef, he told us, is Malay. As we were the only customers, we would have expected the chef to at least come and have a chat to us and ask for feedback…but no.

So, forgetting the fact that the meal failed in it's billing as genuinely Malaysian, was it satisfying judged on it's own merits? Yes, if you like low-end supermarket prepared meals, otherwise no.

So our conclusion…we won't be back for the food. However, we will definitely keep an eye on the jazz listings and try it out for the music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philfromhackneywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nolias11 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing