We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weird service, lower than average food”
Review of Bi Won

Bi Won
Ranked #5,733 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Korean
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weird service, lower than average food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went London for sightseeing and saw Bi Won on our way to the British Museum. It looked OK so we went there for dinner the day after. The service was, weird, we felt very uncomfortable. The food, we ordered individual dish for everyone, and as we are from Korea, we all sensed that the food was either with some portions of artificial seasoning or just quick microwave food. Considering the prices, it was very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sy0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    41
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A fantastic find !”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Lunch with two colleagues, and what a great lunch! Our London host was determined to find a Korean restaurant for me that did the whole barbecue in the middle of the table thing, based on my recollection of a Korean restaurant in Kuala Lumpur many years ago. This little place is just genius. Nobody could accuse it of having airs and graces (it has none) but the staff were really helpful and the food was great. We had the marinated chicken, pork, scallops along with vegetables. We were shown how to make little lettuce parcels of deliciousness, and the whole deal came to a princely £55. I daresay there are better and more authentic options dotted across the globe, but for three hungry people who wondered in looking for some good food outside our normal comfort zone this was just fantastic!! Five stars all the way!

Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry England
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We dropped in here after a visit to the British Museum and were not disappointed. Good clean tasting food served by friendly staff at a very reasonable price. What is not to like and by the time we left the place was full which reflects that others thought the same. Yes the decor was a little basic but the food certainly delivered.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service and food for the price”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chanced upon this tiny place and loved it. It's a family owned Korean restaurant - with friendly people. The food is amazing and priced well (for 2 people, the total bill was 30 pounds approx).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saumyagupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Hot Stone Pot was not hot enough so it did not create a crust of rice that which be part of the texture of this dish so basically it was just some slivers of vegetables and shreds of beef on rice. Very poor value for that. The soup was also tasteless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bi Won also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Bi Won? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing