We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good time had by all...”

Bonnie Gull Seafood Shack
Ranked #126 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$52
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Fresh, sustainable, British day-boat seafood, served on small plates. A concise exciting wine list all available by glass & bottle. Ska and reggae soundtrack. Buzzy vibrant seafood joint with chefs serving customers directly over the bar in the compact open kitchen. Expect a showcase of the best seafood from British shores, a daily changing menu and plenty of cooking theatre!
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good time had by all...”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This place was really impressive. The food was fresh, nicely presented without being 'art on a plate', and good portion sizes. Oysters to start were lovely. The wine was good value - for London anyway! I had the eclair for pudding, it was huge! All you could ask was delivered.

Staff were helpful and attentive. I'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    123
    37
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Back Street Find”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we found this place by accident as we were walking back to the station one night and decided it looked interesting and we should go and try it. I am very glad we did, great food lovely waiting staff and a lively atmosphere made for a great evening. there was an interesting selection on the menu and the fish and chips i had were beautifully cooked. really can't rate this place highly enough. we will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garethgreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bonnie Gull - lovely find in Fitzrovia”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a gorgeous little place - not bad value for money and possibly the best fish and chips I have ever tasted. Definitely worth a look for seafood lovers

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlex2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cool London oasis for seafood (and seaside) lovers!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Perfectly cooked and extremely fresh seafood! It's all here with attentive, friendly yet professional service to match. The 'look and feel' of the restaurant (we dined at 55-57 Exmouth Market, not at the 'pop-up') is seafront-esque, but fortunately without the tackiness! Very difficult to find fault with our meal. Only thing is desserts would be best described as just a light 'n fun end to our meal (as the menu signals they will be) -- the chefs' attention is clearly on the starters, shells and mains, as it ought to be. Liquor licence and black pepper will both be welcome additions to this cool cafe, very well done to all responsible for it :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A brilliant birthday meal”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal here earlier in the week for my boyfriend's birthday.

The food was amazing, and the service was one step beyond - I called earlier to say that it was a special occasion and they kindly provided a card (fish related pun included) and a candle with dessert.

It was a lovely start to a lovely evening, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonnie Gull Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Bonnie Gull Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing