We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real change”
Review of White Cube Gallery

White Cube Gallery
Ranked #479 of 1,632 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A real change”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect and wasn't disappointed. The Chuck Close exhibition was brilliant. I particularly liked the chance to watch the film showing his life and techniques, which I think a lot of people may have missed, due to it being somewhat hidden from view.
The other exhibition- well I'll simply say - he's taking the pxxs. Nice art work, sculpture but does it need a guy in a see through one piece to roller skate around it whilst other dancers perform in it to weird tunes? I'm glad I didn't pay to see it. Maybe I'm a philistine.
A lovely gallery with beautiful open rooms and polished concrete floors - so refreshing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning space”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This beautifully done space showcased the work of Bruce Nauman and Damien Hirst. The Hirst paintings were a revelation. The space is a gallery, but feels like a museum. We loved it architecturally. Scale-wise, it's a bit imposing, but for the type of work they show, this is necessary. The original location of White Cube was cramped, and limited the scale of the work shown. Not a problem here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good exhibition of Gilbert and George”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Special location and well exhibited, content not very exiting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Visited the Gilbert and George exhibition last Saturday - I really did not understand the concept, call me a philistine!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado and ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Provocative contemporary art”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

If you are interested in contemporary art - The White cube is a must - they now have two locations, so there is a much better chance of actually seeing some art! The Hoxton Square gallery was closed a couple of times when we tried to go- and its a bit of a trek - so make sure its open before you head out! The one in the St James area has two nice sized gallery spaces, one upstairs and one down and this location is much more convenient if you only have a short time in London.

Helpful?
Thank moac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Cube Gallery also viewed

 

Been to White Cube Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing