We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 22:00
Review Highlights
Fish and Shellfish 🦐

What a great experience learned loads, So many dishes and sauces. Would recommend to go hungry as... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
christian t
A serious treat for enthusiastic cooks

Absolutely wonderful cooking classes! I’d consider myself a confident home cook and thought this... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
olivian802
Read all 382 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around London
from £357.97
More Info
from £99.00
More Info
from £99.00
More Info
from £34.80
More Info
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
341
21
5
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
341
21
5
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews knife skills absolute beginners cooking course great teacher instructor john learned how learning how learn how birthday present afternoon tea techniques baking rosalind lepard masterclass demonstration knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Do not bother if you are already a reasonably experienced home cook.

Our first half hour was spent chopping onions, garlic and herbs for a tomato sauce!! . Disappointing, given we had specifically asked ahead if this would be suitable for more experienced home cooks, we were told the chef would tailor to the clients. This was not the case.

The school is run in a small basement kitchen with no natural light. We understand space is limited in central London, however the price should reflect this. Having done a cookery course elsewhere, for the same cost, where we had our own cooking station, hob, oven, ingredients, everyone preparing all dishes and sampling them, this was infinitely, infinitely better. However, 16 people crowding around a chef on one hob trying to observe is just not workable. There was a camera and screen for people to be able to watch on too but this was focussed on the preparation area next to the hob but not on the hob itself so it was difficult to see what was going on. It didn't really matter though as we were not actually then cooking the dish!!

Unfortunately we found the main chef's manner and attitude quite rude and overbearing. She made a joke about one of us being bald, and regularly refused point-blank to answer questions that anyone was asking relevant to the cooking. To the point where we didn't want to ask anything and felt embarrassed or unable to ask for instruction.

No recipes were handed out. Having done 3 other cookery courses, we have always been able to ask questions and have somewhere to make notes. We were told these would be emailed! (Haven't yet received)

2 of the dishes were simply cooked and put out by the chef with no instruction on how to prepare them.

I also don't consider slopping polenta on a plate next to some wilted kale a 'vegetarian recipe'

There were 10 or 12 'dishes' at the end. I think it would have been far better to concentrate on 5 or 6, be able to cook them all and they be of a higher standard/complexity/originality - rather than items such as baked cauliflower with raisins and pinenuts. Other recipes simply did not work at all (the chickpea gnocchi mushed down into the tomato sauce but we were offered no explanation as to why, what - if anything- we did wrong. Just another rude response)

On paper the recipes appeared to be appealing but none really lived up to expectation. And there were just too many to eat at the end. Much of it was left - what happens to this food? There was absolutely loads of food left. In a recent communal cooking course I took part in, the left overs were shared out between participants. we were told in advance to bring tuppaware with us. So, given we didn't actually do much preparation let alone any cooking and we didn't take any food with us, what on earth did we pay nearly £200 per head for?? Outrageous

We did however find Marcella delightfully friendly and helpful, and would have liked to hear more from her. The rest of the staff were also helpful.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank AnBrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cookery_School_, Manager at Cookery School at Little Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Hi AnBrox

I’m sorry you felt that the experience did not live up to your expectations. I believe that the day before the class your husband phoned to try to get a refund for the class, which we don’t allow, and worry that perhaps this meant you attended the class in the wrong frame of mind.

Our kitchen is a commercial one and we regularly receive comments on how immaculate it is. Central London rents are high and maintaining good equipment and such a pristine kitchen is factored into the cost. I’m afraid that having no windows is not something that we really have any choice on but we make the most of the space and it is as bright and airy as we can make it.

The class aims to give people of all levels fresh inspiration on cooking vegetarian food so whilst a few of the dishes are less technically difficult, there is a reason for each dish being listed – some of them are midweek meals and some are for special occasions or weekend cooking. The polenta and kale dish is served with a red pepper sauce so is a complete dish however the feedback has been that people are less interested in this dish so we may look at revising this.

At other cooking schools where each person has their own work station you may find that you leave having only learnt to make two or three dishes. We aim to give everyone a good overview of lots of dishes and want all attendees to leave us feeling they have learnt a lot and made the most of their time with us which is why we cover so many recipes. You will probably recall that during the class the teachers had everyone pause periodically and gather round to learn specific skills relating to the recipes so that even though you were not making every single dish yourself in the class, you still took away the knowledge to be able to replicate each dish at home. By doing this a large number of recipes can be covered and everyone has a chance to make at least one dish completely - perhaps more depending on the class - and knowing how to make those that others have cooked.

Because you brought up the very valid question of recipe cards, we stopped printing recipes to take home in an effort to be more sustainable, however there was a set of printed out cards in the class so that everyone could follow them whilst cooking. In terms of recipes to take home, we decided to go paper free so now email the recipes to people and print only upon request. Having looked into it, the recipes for this class got stuck in the outbox on the Friday when we sent them and only got sent on the Monday morning when the computers were reloaded. This was a mistake and I’m so sorry that you didn’t receive them over the weekend. Please do contact us if for some reason you still have not received them.

I’m very sorry that you felt you were unable to ask questions. I have spoken to the teachers and they are not sure what this is in reference to as they answered plenty of questions throughout. If there is anything specific you would like to ask us, then please do email us. We certainly don’t intend anyone to feel uncomfortable in our classes and pride ourselves on being open and not at all intimidating. Your teachers were very experienced ones and I was surprised and concerned to hear that you didn’t feel comfortable. I am aware that one of them has an acerbic sense of humour but know also that she lets the class know this and asks them not to take her seriously! Apparently the “bald” comment actually came from the man himself making a joke about not needing a hair tie and she carried the joke along, which perhaps came across as inappropriate.

Finally, the issue of leftovers is a tricky one. We have very little waste as we order food per person and when we can send products that ‘keep’ (such as cakes) home, we do but expect attendees to bring their own containers as we operate a policy of not using containers once (as part of our sustainability ethos). The reason that this has come about is because we have found over the past fifteen years that many people come into London, do a class at Cookery School and then go off to the theatre, cinema, clubbing or shopping. During that time the food, that left Cookery School in good condition, deteriorates and can cause illness. In addition to this, if there was nothing left to take at the end of a class, attendees would be disappointed. We are between a rock and a hard place here. All leftover food is used for staff lunches so nothing does go to waste but I understand your point about wanting to take it home with you. The purpose of this policy is to keep our customers safe.

We take great pride in what we do and are sorry that you are disappointed in your class. We follow a set format for all classes and take criticism into consideration as we are always trying to improve our offering.

Best wishes
The team at Cookery School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Great day. Small class & enthusiastic chef. Being of a certain age I thought there wouldn’t be much to teach me but I was very wrong! So much food to eat at the end of the day so I suggest you pace yourself. Highly recommended

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank kgeorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cookery_School_, Manager at Cookery School at Little Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Hi kgeorman

We are so pleased you enjoyed the class, learnt a lot and enjoyed a huge feast of your making! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
the team at Cookery School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

...was most fun I've had on a Cookery course that was a Christmas gift from my son who did the course with me. It was very relaxed but super-informative at the same time-and that was down to Stacey who ran the course, together with Linda and their lovely helpers. Even though we didn't make everything individually, I came away confident that I would be able to cook all the traditional Jewish dishes.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank BertChrisHooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cookery_School_, Manager at Cookery School at Little Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Hi BertChrisHooty

Delighted to hear this! Will poass your lovely comments on to Stacey, Linda and the team. Do keep on cooking!

Best wishes,
The team at Cookery School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019

I had a really enjoyable course. The teacher was knowledgeable, funny and friendly. After struggling at home for a while to master the technique of baking bread, it was made to look easy and turned out to be just that. There was plenty of opportunity to feel the texture of the dough and try out shaping, rolling, plaiting etc. which was handy to try so you would not get stuck at home when trying to recreate these recipes . The rest of the staff were helpful and kept the place very neat and tidy. I thoroughly enjoyed tasting the finished products and also being able to take some home. I will definitely be recommending this course to friends and family.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Voyage76380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cookery_School_, Manager at Cookery School at Little Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Hi Voyage76380

Glad you enjoyed the course - we aim to simplify everything so pleased that this came across in the class.

We would love to see your finished loaves so do email us any photos!

Many thanks,
The team at Cookery School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

A great course taught by skilled chefs. We learnt to make about eight different dishes, all delicious. The morning finished by sitting down and eating the wonderful creations served with wine. A brilliant present for anyone who enjoys food and cooking.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank minnie22UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cookery_School_, Manager at Cookery School at Little Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear minnie22UK

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the class and hope to see you back here in the future.

All the best,
The team at Cookery School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews