We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dim sum - cocktails not as expected”

Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour
Ranked #1,540 of 24,553 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: Opium is set in a townhouse behind a secret jade door. Sprawling over two floors with views that take in Chinatown below, Opium is heavily Chinese influenced and themed, in the ingredients and flavours found throughout the cocktail list, the dim sum menu and tea offering. The décor is a mixture of both rough and luxe, and antique and modern, spanning time and style from all over China. The attic area has an open-kitchen style bar where guests get involved in the theatre of drinks-making.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here after hearing this place is a must.
Slightly confusing over what rooms to book etc, but managed to get it sorted.
The dim sums were brilliant and very reasonably priced too. It was the cocktails which were slightly disappointed with- my wife enjoyed hers but me not so much. The mixologist was extremely knowledgable and happy to go off the menu for us if needed. There were some very unusual combinations, some sounding exciting and some less so!
Overall, we would come back here.

Thank PartTimeFoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle L, Sales Manager at Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We are glad to hear that overall, you did enjoy your time with us.

Making a booking can be very confusing as we do have three different bars within the venue however, we are in the process of updating our website and bookings platform to make it easier for all of our guests to understand and book.

We are also in the middle of updating all our menus for all three bars so we do hope to have you back to try them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in the apothecary and the atmosphere there was really great. Tiny glass bottles with Chinese characters on them, dim red lights and various other decorations did create the feeling of a hidden Chinese opium bar some time in the 1950s.

The bartenders were great and the cocktails were absolutely amazing. It is a bit expensive but it's definitely worth the money you spend.

The dim sum was also delicious.

Defnitely gonna come back there again.

Thank Sima_Cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle L, Sales Manager at Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sima,

Thank you for 5 star review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Apothecary bar. We do hope you join us again and of course you are more than welcome to join us in one of our other bars within Opium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice bar hidden away in China town, doorway can easily be missed. Cocktails were interesting, especially the ones based in the Chinese animal years. Best cocktails were the Cherry Blossom vesper and the Plum Champs Elysées. Service was the only let down as was very slow

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle L, Sales Manager at Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Colin,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and particularly the cocktails! We will pass on feedback to the team, especially regarding service for future training purposes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Went on a team ‘do’ and I do recommend pre booking. We went IoM a Friday and if you haven’t booked then entry is variable. There is a man on the door checking names etc.

Be aware that it is on the second floor so a walk up some narrow soho steps and stairs.

However you do arrive at the 2nd floor and the room opens out for the restaurant and bar.

We weren’t eating just heading for the cocktails. We all drank our birth sign, horse, dragon, pig, rat etc and it was great to taste the varieties.

We followed it up with. Bathtub Gin, and then Moscow Mules all around.

It is a great intimate place and we felt the atmosphere was just right!

It is a little expensive but hey it is Chinatown and the centre of London.

I’d definitely head back but perhaps just the one cocktail

Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle L, Sales Manager at Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your detailed feedback and kind words. We're glad to hear you and your team enjoyed our cocktails and had a great time with us. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Dropped in for cocktails after the theatre yesterday. Friendly staff & warm, relaxed atmosphere. The cocktails were great & very professionally mixed. Well worth seeking out.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ageing B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle L, Sales Manager at Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Opium Cocktail & Dim Sum Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing