We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food but poor wine list.”
Review of Primo - CLOSED

Primo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but poor wine list.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We went to Primo as we had 50% off food deal. the booking was for 7pm and the restaurant was very quiet. The interior is very nice and cosy. The Tuna carpaccio I had was delicious, highly recommended. Also the lobster linguine was great with lots of lobster. the only let down was the wine list as a choice of only 3 red and 3 whites even if at the back of menu more wines are listed but they aren't available. overall very good food and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This restaurant definitely deserves a 10 out of 10 both for the service and the standard of the cuisine. We had the pre-theatre voucher menu and it was absolutely delicious, good portions too. We arrived early but the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Yes, it does look a bit dark from the outside but don't be put off, the meal we had was one of the best I have ever had. The wine is a little expensive but it didn't put us off I would still give the restaurant a 10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We wanted to have dinner at a restaurant near the theater before seeing a show and found this restaurant on toptable. What a wonderful place! The service and food were great. One of the best meals we had in London. Good wine too. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good but expensive”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The quality of the food was excellent, perfectly cooked and well presented and the waiters friendly and attentive. However, it was lacking somewhat in atmosphere and the outside looked grim mainly because of the large trees casting huge shadows over the front. Service charge was added to the bill which l find objectional as, although l always tip,l believe it is up to the diner to give what they deem appropriate. Also a cover charge of £2 per person is added.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday treat”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Everything about our Primo dining experience was good. The service was excellent and the food matched it - well presented and perfectly cooked and we didn't have to wait ages between courses. Because my partner told our waiter that is was my birthday he even put a candle in our tiramisu (which we shared) which made a very nice touch to the evening.

Don't be put off by the outside of the restaurant which isn't the most attractive as it is clean with a good ambience inside and the staff attentive and very pleasant.

We will be very happy to eat there again when the opportunity arises.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 007annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing