We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, modern Chinese food”
Review of A. Wong

A. Wong
Ranked #738 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Pimlico
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great, modern Chinese food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really enjoyed our dinner at A. Wong. We had the Chengdu tofu, rice noodles with beef, stuffed chicken wings, the crab with steamed and spicy aubergine. Our favourite dishes were the rice noodles and stuffed chicken wings, but every dish was very good. The chicken wings were de-boned and stuffed with a prawn mousse and served with red peppers and onions in a black bean sauce. Really delicious. I've heard their dim sum and desserts are fabulous, so aim to go back soon to try those. Service was attentive and friendly. It is very noisy. Stylish interior and outdoor seating is available and also counter seats where you can watch the chefs at work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeera_Genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    78
    31
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Dim Sum”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were in London for a family get together and my son recommended A. Wong. in Victoria. We were not disappointed. It was a lunchtime visit so a selection of Dim Sum was ordered and every dish was a delight. The restaurant is small but we were seated outside which was very pleasant on a lovely warm day. Sitting outside did not detract from the service as they seemed to anticipate when to bring the next dish. Lunch was enjoyed by all our party and I would recommend you try this restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, beautiful food.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went here after a few recommendations. It was fantastic - incredibly presented, really interesting and delicious food. Not pretentious, decent portions, decent prices...great Chinese flavours with a European twist. Everything looked so different and interesting, it really was a delight to taste it all. We've been twice now. Have the banana desert, It's incredible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bex42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Contemporary Asian Cuisine at its best”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having booked into Victoria last minute, a quick Google search for local restaurants turned up A. Wong just 5 mins away on Wilton Road and boasting some pretty favorable comments online. My colleague and I are big fans of Asian food so it was an obvious choice to give this unassuming little restaurant a try.
First impressions were good, with the chef-proprietor busily running the pass of a minute kitchen where 6 or 7 chefs were industriously manning woks, steamers, and other equipment to produce a steady stream of good-looking dishes.
The initial disappointment at having missed out on the 'lunchtime only' Dim Sum menu was soon dispelled as the evening selection of dishes looked equally delicious and interesting. Stand out plates such as Yunnan seared beef, mint, chilli & Lemongrass and Razor Clam with pickled sea cucumber made for some very easy choices. In the end, we probably ordered far more than we should, with about a dozen dishes between us topped off with some noodles! That said, we managed to finish the lot, only leaving a portion of the barbecued lamb belly which neither of us particularly took to.
Service was uncredibly friendly and efficient and some friendly acknowledgement (from a distance) by the chef created a perfectly relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.
Bill for two of us with four beers each was about £150 - not cheap, but astounding value for the quality of what we had. The dishes would not have been out of place in a starred restaurant and easily compare to the likes of Hakkasan and Yau'atcha.
I am looking forward to a lunchtime visit at the earliest opportunity to sample as much of the Dim Sum as possible!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarborough1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went there for lunch without any expectations and was simply blown away! Some of the best, and most inventive dim sum I have ever had! The presentation was stunning, worthy stars in the Michelin guide,and the tastes beautiful. The staff were friendly and profesionel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasMAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A. Wong also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to A. Wong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing