We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chips!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. Fish

Mr. Fish
Ranked #4,263 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$23
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mr Fish prides itself in providing a first class and truly traditional Fish and Chips experience by using only the best quality, freshest ingredients, all prepared and cooked using traditional methods to perfection & served by trained and friendly personnel. Established for over 20 years, we continue to strive for excellence in both our food and our service. Our Queens Park location provides a take away and restaurant service where you can enjoy your meal in comfortable surroundings while being served by our friendly and professional staff. Our fully licensed bar make it the ideal place for a glass of wine or a refreshing beer with lunch, or to bring friends and family for a great British night out!
La Rochelle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chips!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am sorry that it seems that restaurants in Queens Park have decided to up their prices and down their quality!
I want to write something positive but this Fish shop has been re furbished and looks beautiful.
The food however has gone the other way
Maybe the new fryers are getting some getting used to but when I pay £2.90 for a portion of large chips (not as large as before the refurb) and they are soggy and a bit white I feel robbed from the perspective of price as well as quality
I have also stood there on both occasions and watched people go into shock when they are told the price of takeaway fish and chips. Also to cap it all my builder said the food was terrible and said the saveloy was burnt! Other locals I know will not go now .Come on Mr Fish bring your prices into line with what it is . Its Fish and Chips quality must be improved.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ksbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    9
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Possibly the most expensive Chip Shop in the UK (To pay for its makeover?)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This fish and chip shop has recently reopened after a makeover.
They now have a 'digital' price board, which must have cost some money however they have a gone too far in the amount they have raised the prices to pay for it!

£1.90 for a small portion of chips.
£2.90 for a large portion of chips.

I must say I was astonished!
To make things worse, despite their 'makeover' they still serve the peas and curry sauce in little plastic microwave pots that they leave to melt in the hot shelf, whilst not keeping the peas and curry hot all the way through. You would have thought they could afford a a bain marie in their makeover to produce nice tasting peas and keep them fresh!

All style, no substance really. Very disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in North London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I've been going to Mr Fish for nearly 20 years now and have never been disappointed. Great fish, great chips, and service with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank Andpym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“make sure you go only when they've recently changed the oil”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

sometimes even stepping out of the tube station at queen's park (open air station) you can already smell the deep fat fryer of mr. fish across the street. i wouldnt call this any kind of special restaurant - and generally is only frequented by those seeking to absorb a bit of the ill effects of over-imbibing...
Word to the wise - avoid it at all costs if you can smell it before you see it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank damifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We chose to get a takeaway from Mr Fish in Queens Park as it is close to where we live.

What a poor choice! The fish was extremely greasy, and it was 80% batter, and 20% fish. And the fish I chose was a medium size fish. It was like eating greasy batter with a few bits of fish.

So so disappointing. There are plenty of other chippes nearby that people can go to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing