We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Years of joy”
Review of Chinatown Bakery

Chinatown Bakery
Ranked #21 of 279 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Neighbourhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Years of joy”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've been coming here for over 15 years now and it is still my first choice by a mile for baked chinese products. The buns are always soft and fresh, there is a large selection of baked goods found in Hong Kong and their window display always entices you to go in.
The smell inside is wonderful, it can get a bit busy inside when there is a lot of people trying to get served but it really is worth it. Try their chicken pie!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went there after having a splendid lunch on the other side of the road. We bought there a couple of buns with coconut and others with beans, after tasting the one with beans, I told my wife we had to buy a couple more, as I was already finishing gulping down one. The staff is very friendly too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank makakito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bakery Ever”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was in London for a Week and I went to this bakery 3 times.
A great variety of buns for a very affordable price, you can't get better than that. For about 2£ (equivalent to 2 buns) you can have a pretty nice hot lunch and that is great for someone who is trying to get a quick meal and carry on.

There is a huge variety of buns from pork to chicken to garlic to sweet buns, great great stuff. And I had a few buns on my backpack for a hole day and the next day they still tasted allright.

The service is also extremely fast. I will be sure to come back to this place once I return to London.

PS: my favorite thing to eat here was tha garlic pork roll.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDA_Tavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mishmash of Chinese Buns and Cakes and Tai Yaki”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

You would be confused which bun to choose from the varied bun menu ranging from pork, chicken curry, green tea, red bean, coconut etc etc arranged soldierly in the glass cabinet. Pick up a pair of tongs and tray by the door and help yourself. Splendid idea for an afternoon tea or even a quick light meal and you'll spend only the spare change in your pocket. The hand made cakes are sumptuous; the fresh fruit and cream decorations leave you wanting more. Definitely recommended if you are ever visiting China Town London and am sure you'll end up buying one of each delicacy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sapna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Kowloon Bakery China Town London”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This bakery is by far the best chinese bakery i've ever been too, they do beautiful window displays and have a huge variety of yummy goodies to chose from.

My family and I discovered this place a few months ago and everytime we go to London we have to go here, they make the most delicious BBQ Pork buns and the most delightful custard buns that are actually oozing custard, these are totally delicious and always make you go back for more, which we always do and save them for later on in the day!

Honestly i wouldn't eat in any of the restaurants there but this bakery gets 100% everytime, try it and you will be surprised how tasty they are, shame they don't do a delivery service but then again i don't think they'd want to travel to Sheffield!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry32G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing