We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chinatown Bakery

Chinatown Bakery
Ranked #21 of 280 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Soho
United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

You go around with tongs and put what you want on a tray. There are a few things that they get for you though. It's so cute and interesting, plus a cheap snack that tasted good. Go by here if you like different types of baked goods and need a snack. I found it interesting that there is a "watch for pickpockets" sign inside the store. We didn't see any questionable characters lingering, but watch your wallet just in case.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Sponge Cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I bought a delicious slice of sponge cake here. Lots of delicious looking items sweet and not sweet. It was crowded and the staff helpful, but I wish there were more room to peruse. I almost ordered a sponge cake with fish filling. Yikes! If you go, take your time and do not feel rushed if it is crowded!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandMinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Years of joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've been coming here for over 15 years now and it is still my first choice by a mile for baked chinese products. The buns are always soft and fresh, there is a large selection of baked goods found in Hong Kong and their window display always entices you to go in.
The smell inside is wonderful, it can get a bit busy inside when there is a lot of people trying to get served but it really is worth it. Try their chicken pie!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went there after having a splendid lunch on the other side of the road. We bought there a couple of buns with coconut and others with beans, after tasting the one with beans, I told my wife we had to buy a couple more, as I was already finishing gulping down one. The staff is very friendly too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank makakito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bakery Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was in London for a Week and I went to this bakery 3 times.
A great variety of buns for a very affordable price, you can't get better than that. For about 2£ (equivalent to 2 buns) you can have a pretty nice hot lunch and that is great for someone who is trying to get a quick meal and carry on.

There is a huge variety of buns from pork to chicken to garlic to sweet buns, great great stuff. And I had a few buns on my backpack for a hole day and the next day they still tasted allright.

The service is also extremely fast. I will be sure to come back to this place once I return to London.

PS: my favorite thing to eat here was tha garlic pork roll.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDA_Tavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing