We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forces ex Forces Family of Forces”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Union Jack Club
Ranked #5 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Forces ex Forces Family of Forces”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a great place to stay. It has to be the cleanest hotel/club we hjave ever stayed in. There are prices from the lowest budgets to the Rickett Suite which is excellent. On arrival you feel welcome immediatley the UJ is sSituated a few yards from Waterloo Station and there are many places in walking distance, the Old Vic is actually 3 minutes and the South Bank probably 10 minutes at the most. Food here is very varied and very reasonably priced a fine breakfast is £8 and evening meals most main courses are under a tenner. The Bar is comfortable but busy and prices here for drinks and snacks fit most pockets. In the foyer is a daytime coffee bar with good choice and again good prices. Housekeeping and comfort is excellent and though the rooms are mostly converts from years ago they are comfortable but not always of uniform shape.
The club is open to members and their guests and families and is probably the nicest home from home for many members of the forces including those with disbilities where a great effort has been made to provide accomodation to make them comfortable. Some foreign forces and ex-forces are welcom but check with the club membership secretary. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Impossible to say because they are almaost all different and individually planned
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chatt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    145
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
119
169
64
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Was able to stay there for three days in March 2013. This is a UK military club that allows active duty and retired US military to stay as guest members. The reservation went as planned, except for my rate. When I Reserved my room via the website, the rate was one price but when I arrived five months later rates had increased and my room was a bit more than I had planned. They do warn you about this on their website, indicating that tariffs increase on the first of the year. The rooms are clean, the staff is helpful, and there is a small restaurant and coffee bar in the lobby. Just for you Americans, there is a custom here that does not allow you to bring outside food and drink into hotels. When I went across the street and brought back my Starbucks coffee into the hotel the door clerk chided me for doing so. Make sure that if you are visiting from the US, you bring electrical adapters because there are no outlets for non-UK electrical plugs.
The room was pretty average with two twin size beds, but the bathroom was very nicely remodeled and was quite large. This hotel was not luxurious by any means, but they had lots of services available including a checked baggage room an exercise room, and a computer room with wireless Internet. This place is right at the Waterloo train station and tube stop. I would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed for three wonderful nights for an ex-WRAF weekend. How the place has improve from last October. New coffee bar in reception,New menu in resturant. More seating in the reception area, much needed over a very busy time. But level of help and assistance for a special occasion was wonderful. Back again in October for a longer stay. Great value for money in these hard times, location could not be faulted for Central London. New evening menu very good as we could all testify.
All you need to stay here is to check information on the website.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

The public can not stay or visit The UJC. As a member of the police from Australia I was able to stay here with my family as a temporary member. The location is perfect for exploring London as it is literally opposite Waterloo tube station, the rooms are very basic but suited us with a family room, a small room with a bunk bed is attached to the main room. Our bed was not comfortable and on the 3rd floor but I don't think this is the norm when you read other reviews, the sleeping problem may have been more to so with jetlag also!
The food is excellently priced, basic but wholesome.
Great bar and facilities. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

You can only stay here if you are or have been a member of the British forces. The rooms are basic and clean and good value considering that you are a few minutes away from the South Bank. They have a lovely large room with a bar and comfortable chairs also a nice big quiet room with sofas and 2 desks with plug ins for your laptop. You can get bar food all day and there is a really good Restaurant with a very wide menu. It's also a lovely place to drop into for quiet time if you are out and about in a crowded London.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

You never know who or what will be in the bar when you stay. One of the many times, there was the pipes and drums who after a few drinks popped back to their rooms to fetch their instruments.

Some times the receptionists need to remember their manners or at least smile.

Perhaps when emailed, they could be more pleasent, dispite still being helpful.

After all said and done, how can you not like the place and for what it offers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Union Jack club is well located right by Waterloo station and in an ideal position to explore London. Very reasonably priced both in the rooms and food, has a nice bar area and other facilities to make a pleasant stay. Staff are polite and helpful and I would recommend this club to stay at. Well worth becoming a member to make use of reduced prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordCapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Jack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Jack Club

Property: The Union Jack Club
Address: Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Jack Club is a Service charity for serving and former non-commissioned members of Her Majesty's Armed Forces and their families and provides a comfortable and friendly base from which to explore London. Versatile accommodation for individuals,couples, families and groups and fully accessible. Come and experience the Union Jack Club yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing