We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Union Jack Club
Ranked #4 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have just stayed at the Union Jack Club for 3 nights, with my wife. Being ex- Royal Navy, I have always wanted to give this Hotel a try. It is a private club, and you must be a member, there is security on the door to check your membership card. I found that very reassuring. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the superior double room. It was fairly large, compared to other hotel rooms we have stayed in, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, with a fridge in the room, TV, kettle, free coffee, tea, ect. The bathroom was very plush with double sinks, a bath with both overhead and hand held showers, free shampoo, body wash, ect, and clean towels every day. No air conditioning unfortunately, so we took our own fan, as very warm weather was predicted. There was a iron and ironing board in the room, a desk and free wi-fi.
The club is one minute walk away from Waterloo Main Railway station and underground, and there is a Local Sainsburys around the corner, for those little essentials. There is also a cafe in the lobby, and a small room with four desk top PC's and automat machines.
We used the restaurant each morning for a full English breakfast, which was top notch, and twice for evening meals. The food was excellent, especially the 'Duck Scotch Egg' starter. My compliments to the chef.
We have stayed in a number of different hotels when visiting London, but the Union Jack Club is now the one for us, and look forward to our next stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 066007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have stayed here several times as a couple and also with our grandson. This is a great place to stay for a very reasonable price. The double rooms are adequate with plenty of storage and decent sized en suite. Our grandson was delighted to have his own ( small) room off ours with TV. Rooms are very clean and comfortable but can be noisy on the lower floors ....early morning. Staff especially in the dining room are very efficient. Food, especially breakfast, is good value. The coffee bar in the reception area is a nice addition.
Next door to Waterloo station makes it very convenient for arrivals and departures. There is a baggage room where luggage can be left. It is essential to be a member and also to make an advance booking for particular dates. We find the UJC ideal for short breaks in London.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. I requested a single basic room and got exactly that! Bed was satisfactory and the room was very clean, if not a little small. Communal showers and toilets were also very clean.

Wifi is free throughout the club however, coverage is full of gaps and the hubs are clearly overloaded as I found the Internet very slow.

Food was surprisingly good with a wide selection available on the menu. The bar area is excellent with a very friendly atmosphere. People seem to know where they stand in there, perhaps a reflection on all guests being serving or, ex members of HM Forces.

Located directly opposite Waterloo Station, with the Northern Line passing through, you can be in central London inside 15 mins.

Pros. cheap, friendly, location.

Cons. Very warm, poor wifi.

Room Tip: Book early! The UJ fills up quickly. Ask for a room that does not face Waterloo station as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in the UJC a few times now in both single rooms (with ensuite) and doubles. For the price the hotel cannot be beaten!

The rooms are clean, and although some aspects (eg. Thin mattresses / basic ensuite) aren't quite up to usual 'hotel standards' they are far better than you'd expect for the money.

Great food (fab breakfast for £8) and polite staff. The security staff could be more friendly but that's a minor negative.

I will return (on many occasions)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my 5th stay at the 'club'. Just as good as before. I don't understand the comments of john5947. I find the staff extremely helpful and good natured. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and well appointed. The reception cafe and bar are comfortable and reasonably priced. Dining room is also good although I normally only take breakfast which is excellent. The library/quiet rooms are a real oasis. I will be back !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuditorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The UJC is always a great place to stay. Very friendly staff, immaculately clean and the location is ideal being directly opposite Waterloo Station. The food is of good quality (I've tried breakfast and dinner there) and very reasonably priced.

Two things to bear in mind: 1/ This is not a hotel - it's aim is to give (ex)-servicemen good quality accommodation in central London at an extremely low price. The rooms are therefore very small, mattresses are thin etc. But they do not compromise on cleanliness or the welcome you get. 2/ It is opposite Waterloo station in a busy part of London so some rooms can be noisy.

The UJC still gets a 5 star rating from me. You would struggle to get a hotel for twice the prices they charge in that area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Patrick O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Been staying at the union jack club since 1994 and have to say that for location, service, rooms and food you would be hard pushed to find anywhere better in London. The breakfast is just heavenly, the bar meals superb. Last trip we stayed in one of the flats for four nights and my brother in law had to return home to work for one of the days, as my dad had his ID that is needed for you to enter the club the staff were good enough to arrange for him to enter without issue on his return. If you can stay at this establishment you'll be hard pushed to find better!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSingletonLIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton London Kensington
#515 of 1,078 in London
4,387 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#340 of 1,078 in London
4,373 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Jack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Jack Club

Address: Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Jack Club is a Service charity for serving and former non-commissioned members of Her Majesty's Armed Forces and their families and provides a comfortable and friendly base from which to explore London. Versatile accommodation for individuals,couples, families and groups and fully accessible. Come and experience the Union Jack Club yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing