We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing quality experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Union Jack Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Union Jack Club
Ranked #5 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A relaxing quality experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed here many times because it is so convenient and affordable with excellent facilities. At one time it was convenient for Eurostar which left from the nearby Waterloo station.
But, now it is just as easy to book an early morning taxi for the easy route to St Pancras. The bar is a very good meeting place, and my own family members have been allowed to stay here.
For the overnight stay in London the walk into Covent Garden, the Chinese centre and trafalgar square is just an easy stroll. As you cross the bridge over the Thames you can look down onto the public area in front of the Festival Hall and see the ever changing activities from circus to ballroom dancing. Visitors from other countries will find this hotel absolutely perfect for their needs. An oasis of calm before the hustle and bustle of tourist London.

Room Tip: A room overlooking The Old Vic theatre will complete your evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tebbuch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    139
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
113
163
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although I stop over in London quite often I have not used the Union Jack Club before, not sure why.
I was pleasantly pleased by the great value for money my single on suit room was for the honourary membership price of £70. Great value I must say.
I also had dinner in the restaurant and £13 for a lovely steak in central London was a bargain.

I for sure will be using this great find gain. If you are forces or ex forces give it a go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've probably stayed in about 50 different London hotels in the last 10 years. I'm on a strict budget but I also have high standards.I've stayed in a lot of Travelodges, which are OK, but not terribly cheap if you don't reserve far ahead. The Tunes Hotel room was infintisimal and depressing. The small, good-value hotels book up early. Luckily, my husband did his National Service, which made us eligible to join the Union Jack Club. Its location is brilliant--just across from Waterloo Station. Our double room was generous, clean and excellent value for £85. We even had a view. The staff was nice, too. The UJC is highly recommended.

It looks like my search is over.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a short break. Thirty pounds a night for a room and breakfast in the heart of London opposite Waterloo station (admittedly it was a special price for currently serving soldiers). Three stops on the tube from leicester square and easy access to everywhere else. Staff were polite, proffesional, and helpful. Room was clean, regularly turned down, comfortable bed and a tv. The resteraunt served a great breakfast and the dinner I had there one night was excellent and value for money.
If your a serving soldier on a your on our way to London and are on a budget, save yourself a small fortune, and book here. There's security on the door and because you have had to have been in the forces (or are currently serving) to stay here, people treat each other with politeness and respect. Unusual traits in London !
The Imperial war museum is a five minute walk if u have time to spare as well! And free use of an excellent gym just round the corner from the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 594Chris594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have just stayed at the Union Jack Club for 3 nights, with my wife. Being ex- Royal Navy, I have always wanted to give this Hotel a try. It is a private club, and you must be a member, there is security on the door to check your membership card. I found that very reassuring. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the superior double room. It was fairly large, compared to other hotel rooms we have stayed in, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, with a fridge in the room, TV, kettle, free coffee, tea, ect. The bathroom was very plush with double sinks, a bath with both overhead and hand held showers, free shampoo, body wash, ect, and clean towels every day. No air conditioning unfortunately, so we took our own fan, as very warm weather was predicted. There was a iron and ironing board in the room, a desk and free wi-fi.
The club is one minute walk away from Waterloo Main Railway station and underground, and there is a Local Sainsburys around the corner, for those little essentials. There is also a cafe in the lobby, and a small room with four desk top PC's and automat machines.
We used the restaurant each morning for a full English breakfast, which was top notch, and twice for evening meals. The food was excellent, especially the 'Duck Scotch Egg' starter. My compliments to the chef.
We have stayed in a number of different hotels when visiting London, but the Union Jack Club is now the one for us, and look forward to our next stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 066007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have stayed here several times as a couple and also with our grandson. This is a great place to stay for a very reasonable price. The double rooms are adequate with plenty of storage and decent sized en suite. Our grandson was delighted to have his own ( small) room off ours with TV. Rooms are very clean and comfortable but can be noisy on the lower floors ....early morning. Staff especially in the dining room are very efficient. Food, especially breakfast, is good value. The coffee bar in the reception area is a nice addition.
Next door to Waterloo station makes it very convenient for arrivals and departures. There is a baggage room where luggage can be left. It is essential to be a member and also to make an advance booking for particular dates. We find the UJC ideal for short breaks in London.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. I requested a single basic room and got exactly that! Bed was satisfactory and the room was very clean, if not a little small. Communal showers and toilets were also very clean.

Wifi is free throughout the club however, coverage is full of gaps and the hubs are clearly overloaded as I found the Internet very slow.

Food was surprisingly good with a wide selection available on the menu. The bar area is excellent with a very friendly atmosphere. People seem to know where they stand in there, perhaps a reflection on all guests being serving or, ex members of HM Forces.

Located directly opposite Waterloo Station, with the Northern Line passing through, you can be in central London inside 15 mins.

Pros. cheap, friendly, location.

Cons. Very warm, poor wifi.

Room Tip: Book early! The UJ fills up quickly. Ask for a room that does not face Waterloo station as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Jack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Jack Club

Property: The Union Jack Club
Address: Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Jack Club is a Service charity for serving and former non-commissioned members of Her Majesty's Armed Forces and their families and provides a comfortable and friendly base from which to explore London. Versatile accommodation for individuals,couples, families and groups and fully accessible. Come and experience the Union Jack Club yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing