We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round 1st class”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Union Jack Club
Ranked #5 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“All round 1st class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is my favourite hotel in London. You can not fault any aspect of it in any way. Location location location it's near every attraction and it's own tube station outside the door ! It may not have the bells and whistles of the major chains but value for money first class attentive service in every area combined with an exceptional restaurant it takes some beating.Well done to all the staff please try it's restaurant it's superb. If you are eligible to book just do it !!

Room Tip: City facing room see St. Paul's lit at night superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpo2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    141
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
116
164
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Its been a while since my wife and I have ben up to London for an overnight stay. Stayed at the UJC and its even better than we remembered it. Friendly staff who are very helpful, good rooms and an excellent breakfast what more could one ask?
Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart-forster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very impressed with our visit , the twin room was immaculate and so comfortable. Dining in the restaurant was a pleasure, excellent food with impeccable service. It was lovely to stay where such high standards are maintained with friendly helpful staff and with a relaxing atmosphere. We feel very privileged to have been invited to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

A first rate club for Armed Services personnel present and past and their families.
Situated close to Waterloo Bridge and the South a Bank and eithin walking distance of the West End and the City.
No airs and graces, but well organised, clean, tidy, inexpensive, excellent single and double rooms, first class restaurant, really competitively priced, all the facilities of a good three/ four star hotel.

Room Tip: Single ensuite rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UJ C, Manager at The Union Jack Club, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for the review and we're glad you had a pleasant stay with us. The Club is getting busier by the week with both serving and ex serving making full use. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked for 20! Stag do, after I messed the bookings around for months before hand, chopping and changing names, they really squared it all away. Great decor, great staff, single man rooms with shared facilities was like being back in the block, loved it. Cheap drinks, especially the coffee shop just inside the door. Located right outside Waterloo so easy access to all transport networks, direct dial for a cab. Left luggage storage, can't fault this, many thanks all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Auzz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UJ C, Manager at The Union Jack Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for the review and glad it all went well for the group. See you again soon. Regards Team UJC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
399 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

You must be a member to stay here. You must also be a member of the armed forces, an ex-member of the armed forces and a member of the emergency services also get preferential rates. This lovely hotel in the heart of London (Waterloo) is well worth a visit. Go onto their web site if you qualify to join or want to know more. www.ujclub.co.uk

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UJ C, Manager at The Union Jack Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for the response and glad your stay went well. Hope to see you once again in the Club soon. All the best Team UJC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in the Union Jack Club with friends (who are members) for a quick overnight stop in London on a recent holiday. The location is ideal - right next to Waterloo station and walking distance to the London Eye and South Bank and all the tourist spots along it.

The staff were friendly and courteous and the rooms were clean and comfortable for a night or two. I had a suite with a bathroom that was on the side of one of the train tracks, however I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me.

Note if you're traveling in the summer the rooms are not air conditioned. Again, this didn't bother me (coming from Bangkok!) but that might be a concern for other people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRissMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UJ C, Manager at The Union Jack Club, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the response its really appreciated. We do try to make the experience a positive on and hope to see you once again when you're back in London. Even if its just passing through the doors are open to all serving non-commissioned members of the Armed Forces and ex Service once they've joined. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Jack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Jack Club

Property: The Union Jack Club
Address: Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Jack Club is a Service charity for serving and former non-commissioned members of Her Majesty's Armed Forces and their families and provides a comfortable and friendly base from which to explore London. Versatile accommodation for individuals,couples, families and groups and fully accessible. Come and experience the Union Jack Club yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing