We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More for children”

Ametsa with Arzak Instruction
Ranked #90 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$192
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Belgravia
Description: Ametsa, awarded its first Michelin star in September 2013, is a unique collaboration between The Halkin and a team that includes chef Elena Arzak- voted Veuve Clicquot World's Best Female Chef earlier this year - along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez. Father and daughter hold three Michelin stars at the original Arzak restaurant in San Sebastian, Spain.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More for children”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My visit here was great, very well presented, good quality , excellent service, only issue was there was not much choice for children or any halal/kosher meat which was a shame. Apart from that splendid evening , fantastic dessert, also great vanilla ice cream. See you soon guys

Helpful?
1 Thank realtalk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at Ametsa with Arzak Instruction, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review 007
Like Q we are always looking at refining our offering and giving a little twist even for kids.
I do hope it was worth every money penny !
Best Regards
Wakefield Simon Wakefield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    119
    38
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Situated down a side street, a stone's throw from Hyde Park Corner, Ametsa is one of London's hidden gems, based in the Halkin Hotel.

From the moment of walking through the door, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the food was simply extraordinary. Nothing in Spain ever tasted this sensational. We had the tasting menu, and spent our time raving like teenagers over every single little bit! The portions didn't seem to be large, but by the end of it we were absolutely full to the brim and couldn't have eaten another thing.

So many highlights, but the chicken liver pate in parsley meringue was amazing, as were the fish "bites" which are unlike any others I've tried.

It's not cheap - two of us easily spent £100 inc a bottle of very nice wine - but it's extraordinary value for money when you factor in the levels of service and the quality of food you are trying. Definitely one to seek out - I can't wait to go back!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PRFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at Ametsa with Arzak Instruction, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear PRFluffy
Thank you for your "simply stunning" review. It is not far from Surrey so we hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Basque in the glory!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Simply amazing! My wife and I had the tasting menu. From our early arrival and the enquiry by name in the Halkin bar where we took a cocktail each before dinner to the beautiful wine and the amazing selection of enticing, mouthwatering and immaculate five courses of food. The service was astoundingly effortless. We have pledged that we have to return with friends to share this amazing experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gtisi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at Ametsa with Arzak Instruction, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear gtisi68
What a great review of Ametsa and thank you. Do come back soon and why not treat your wife by staying as well ! Feel free to contact me when you next plan to visit
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tisvildeleje, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good, but no great”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have to admit that I couldn't help feeling a bit uncomfortable and "on display" in this restaurant. The tasting menu was extremely expensive for what it was. It was good food, but not particularly inspired. The various "aperitivos" were maybe the best part of the meal. The scallops and crab with cassava souffle was just OK, as was the langoustine. The "egg with chistorra and crumbs" was nothing to write home about. The John Dory with red root was good and the beef fillet with chilies, ordered rare, was also fine. The "postres" were OK, but not exciting.

It was an interesting experience, but I won't bother going back. Especially because it was much too expensive for what it was. I suppose it is a place where one is to be "seen".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry-of-Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at Ametsa with Arzak Instruction, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Larry
Thank you for your "good" review of Ametsa.
I appreciate your feedback and will sit with Sergi today to review your thoughts.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Innovative dishes but lacking atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a wonderful dinner with several little surprises in regards to the way the food had been prepared. I found the experience interesting and it is always amusing to be presented with a beautiful plate of food having no idea what it could be and being pleasantly surprised by the flavours when biting into it!

The only negative would be the atmosphere, it does feel a little cold and personally I prefer more dimmed lighting during dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellife85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at Ametsa with Arzak Instruction, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Travellife
Thank you for your innovative review of Ametsa. So pleased you loved the food and we were are working on the atmosphere aspect to enhance the overall experience.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ametsa with Arzak Instruction also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Ametsa with Arzak Instruction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing