We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy modern take on Spanish cuisine”
Review of Ametsa - CLOSED

Ametsa
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Belgravia
Description: Ametsa brings the flavours of the Basque Country to the heart of Belgravia at COMO The Halkin. Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of Basque cuisine, pairing the techniques of Spain’s Basque Country with British seasonal ingredients to create a selection of light tapas-style dishes and heartier sharing plates. The result is a relaxed neighbourhood dining experience for everyone to enjoy, lunch or dinner. Ametsa’s Private Dining Room can be reserved separately for a gathering of up to 24 guests, or in conjunction with the restaurant for a larger function accommodating up to 68
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I dined here for lunch on the set menu. Service was attentive without being intrusive. The food descriptions were very basic but the food wasn't!!! Each course was beautifully presented and most innovative. First course was a selection of three tapas dishes: pork belly, roasted peppers and crab cakes - all excellent. Main courses were either fish, meat or vegetarian. My dessert looked good when it arrived - an apple with a sweet 'mushroom' on top. This was 'dissolved' by pouring apple juice on it, which was a shame as I was looking forward to the crunch. Still good though. The meal came with complimentary rose Cava which was just as nice as rose champagne. Very reasonable for a michelin starred restaurant - and quiet in a good way.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Dear srocc,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience following your lunch in Ametsa.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Please do come back and visit us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 372 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016

Truly amazing dining experience in a very nice setting. We arrived early for lunch and decided to mix the tasting menu with a number of a la carte dishes. Some of the dishes were really unique in presentation like the egg in the leaf or iberian ham on a bread pillow. Scallop at home and the beef fillet were very flavourful and delicious too.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 816jvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear JV S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ametsa. Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I visited the restaurant second time for lunch with friends. While the food has been very impressive, I'm particularly impressed by restaurant manager's wine recommendations. The Chardonnay of 2006 was mature and distinct while the red was of burgundy style. I used to think Spanish red are of Bordeaux style only. I really should come back for dinner

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank WineConnoisseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear WineConnoisseu,

Thank you for sharing our experience following your recent dining experience in Ametsa. I was happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the food and in particular the wines.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

A bookatable deal meant three course, coffee, petit fours and a glass of sparkles for around £35.

It should be pointed out, that Spanish cooking and the fine dining scene is worlds apart from the English. I'm not saying that the spaniards are far better, just that it's different.

Visits to Cellar Can Roca, Roca Moo and Tickets in the last year or so have really highlighted this.

You need to go here with an open mind.

Starters were a selection of 'tapas'. Incredibly high quality scallops, Iberian ham on potato pillows and a third that escapes me.

Mains of lamb and cod were visually stunning and beautifully cooked.

Desserts were Dali-esque and stunning.

It is very difficult to describe these dishes, as they are very conceptual. Eg the scallop dish is called 'scallops at home'.

Petit fours were clever blackberries, that were actually chocolate.

A little bug bear is that if you are on an iPad or mobile device, the website is impenetrable. But this is Como Hotels, not Ametsa. It is almost impossible to find the restaurant or menus through the site (who doesn't check their websites for mobile usage these days!?!?!). Hence, we were almost forced to use Bookatable to book.

I must say, this was a really interesting, well cooked meal with excellent ingredients, and one to return to to try the longer tasting menu.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank bernikp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear bernikp102,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience in Ametsa.

Please do come and visit us again very soon.

Regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

The food was amazing and staff very friendly. We enjoyed the taster menu with wine which was absolutely gorgeous.
At the end of the meal we even had a chance to thank the chef, Sergio, himself for the fantastic experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank miekeg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Dear miekeg11,

Thank you for your lovely review following your experience in Ametsa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to meet Sergi.

Please do come back and visit us again.

Regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ametsa also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.