We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When Your Custom is not Welcomed”
Review of Elephants Head

Elephants Head
Ranked #2,244 of 23,015 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Camden
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“When Your Custom is not Welcomed”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am not really in a position to review the food or drink in this pub as we never got that far. If your sitting comfortably I'll begin. Having looked at the lunch menu outside and the same menu on a blackboard inside we moved to the bar to make our order.There were only three groups or people in the pub and the barmaid was talking to another women (a total of seven customers). Having finished her conversation she came to take our order. On being asked for two plates of chilli,the barmaid looked along the far end of the pub and then at her watch. It appeared that she wanted to say that it was the wrong time for lunch to be served but its a difficult arguement to make at 12.35. Having looked along the bar again she came back with. You have to have got a table first and bring the number before ordering. Looking around at the empty tables all around I could have said 18, 22 or any of a dozen empty tables whose numbers were visible from where we were standing. Interestingly the only tables I could see with seats with backs were those used. My excuse that there were only tables with low stools left was met with a hearty welcome that we move on. So we did and the £30 plus that we would have spent was spent elsewhere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    121
    41
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,302 reviews
736 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Just for drinks”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a drink during the day fella behind the bar was polite and helpful the whole bar area seemed clean but a bit messy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie020173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“absolutely filthy”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been here a few times and more often than not, will call for a drink at least after going to the market. I have'nt been for over a year but saw a massive change. To the point where I decided against orering food as it was so dirty. the floor needed a really good clean, tables and counters were sticky with lots of fruit flies around, there was a vase of flowers on the bar counter with green water (and I presume stapphyloccocus). We had several attempts ot get a clean glass, in the end I opted for a bottle of something (with the cleanest glass they could find) as I didnt trust their hygiene. This was further supported by the beer we ordered for my partner which was 'disgusting'. The toilets had not been attended to for some time and then seeing the staff collecting glasses and so forth you would not want them to serve food. The girl who served me had lots of dirt under her nails and biro written all over the backs of her hands. I will not be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub in good location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited Camden Market and at lunchtime, we had a very tasty lunch in this pub.
Good Australian beer, nice glass of wine.
The location is just opposite the market.
Very nice decoration. Friendly staff.
Go for it if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Avoid!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I visited Elephant's Headwith four friends on a Saturday afternoon a couple of weeks ago. When we ordered food and coffees at the bar, I mentioned that we only had a limited time in Camden, and would there be a long wait. I w told that we would be served within ten minutes. 30 minutes later I asked the only waitress I could see, who seemed to be moving slower than a snails pace. "Your food will be here shortly" I was told rather abruptly.

When the food actually did arrive, only four of the five meals were served (they'd forgotten one of my friend's order, so she had to go without as we didn't have another 30 minutes to wait). Two if us had the "poached eggs on toasted bloomer bread". When I ordered this at the bar I was asked if I wanted brown bread, which I chose. However, the dish served to us was two slices of the cheapest square loaf.....white, untoasted and thick with butter. Absolutely vile and not at all what I had ordered.

Needless to say we will never be back to this place. When an establishment can't deliver on service, or quality of food, the management should be deeply ashamed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arranem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephants Head also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Elephants Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing