We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, well managed stay in a historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel
Ranked #201 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb location, well managed stay in a historic building”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I did not expect to find that the Premier Inn would bother to preserve any features of the old "lying in" hospital but to my surprise they have done well in the older part of the hotel. You can still see many of the old panelling and tiling on the walls of the 3rd floor and there are many interesting old photographs of the work that used to go n here before. (It was a maternity hospital).

The room and facilities were good as usual in a Premier Inn. The reception and help we got from the staff was excellent, particularly Jack who changed our room when we asked to be placed into the old part of the hotel. We had a good sleep despite being next to the road as there was quadruple glazing!

The breakfast was great with everything you can imagine all hot and fresh. The seating area was spacious and there were loads of staff around to advise and check on things.

The location of the hotel was excellent - it was a 2 minute walk to Westminster bridge and buses from there if you needed them. Parking 1 minute away for £20 a day - not too bad for this area. Houses of Parliament and Big Ben just over the bridge and Waterloo station up the road 5 minutes walk. Some good restaurants and coffee shops nearby too.
We will definitely be back next time we stay in the capital.

Room Tip: The old building was more interesting than the blandness of the modern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulWHunter, Food and Beverage Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and giving us some great feedback.

We are very lucky to have such a memorable building and great features, we often have guests who have either worked here or born here which is a real treat for them.

I am delighted to read that Jack got a special name mention he really is a credit to us all and a credit to Premier Inn, I will ensure your thanks gets passed on.

Furthermore Im glad you found your room comfortable and breakfast to your expectations, hopefully next time you stay we can make your stay even better and a 5 star stay all round.

If you are thinking of returning in the future please email after you have made the reservation and we can look at any requests you may have.

Kind Regards,

Paul Hunter
F&B.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    1,004
    232
    73
    37
See reviews for
1,372
953
74
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There were no problems with my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Hotel was very central and proved a good base for my stay ion London. Security was good. If you need more than 30 mins a day wifi though you have to pay which these days seems a bit weird.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abedood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulWHunter, Food and Beverage Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and giving us 5 stars!

Its really great for us to read when you had a great stay and had "no problems" but moreso to read that you found our team helpful and friendly.

If you are thinking of returning in the future please do not hesitate to contact us after booking and we can ensure your next stay is as comfortable as the last.

Kind Regards,

Paul Hunter
F&B.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Premier Inn Waterloo for 3 nights with our son (10yrs) and we really enjoyed our stay.
The room is not that spacious but was really clean and the beds (one double and one single) were really comfortable with a variety of super comfortable pillows to choose from. The temperature was good and you can set it at the desirable level from the available controls. There is a flat TV a boiler and tea bags if you want to have a cup of tea in the room. Our floor was really quiet and we all had great night sleep. Have in mind that there is no fridge or safe in the room.
The bathroom was clean with shower only (something that the hotel states clearly at their website - and was no problem for us) with hot water available at all times.
The view (10th floor) was fantastic and you could see the London Eye and the Big Ben at the left.
The hotel offers 30 minutes of free WiFi service per device and they charge 3£ per day or 10£ per week that is for one device only. The connection was flawless and fast.
We booked breakfast too which was a good choice as they had a good variety of options (no cheese of any kind though) and a lot of options for kids too. The breakfast area was rather crowded at the time we visited (~8:30 a.m.) but we were given a table immediately and the buffet was at all times full of all the available options. There is a Costa coffee machine with various options (espresso -latte -americano ect) various options of tea, juices, water etc.
The staff at the reception and the breakfast area was really helpful and friendly and they offered room to leave our baggage at check-out.
The location is really great. It's 2 minutes from London Eye and the various attraction of the Southbank (cruises, aquarium, Southbank center) and 5 minutes walk from Big Ben, Palace of Westminster, Westminster Abbey).
There are 2 tube stations within 5 minutes walk: Westminster and Waterloo (less than 5 minutes) and a lot of buses to take you anywhere you like. Especially Bus no 159 (Stop D St Thomas' Hospital / County Hall 3 minutes walk towards Westminster Bridge Rd) will take you from there to Big Ben - Trafalgar Sq - Piccadilly Circus - Oxford St to Marble Arch and then back the same way! Really great service through places to see especially on the top deck of a double-decker
In the Waterloo station you can find nearly everything you would like for fast food (McDonalds, Burger King - Pret A Manger - M&S etc) and we took the train from this station to Windsor to visit Legoland.
Overall we had a great experience and I would definately suggest this hotel.
N from Athens Greece

Room Tip: Room 1005 has excellent view to the London Eye and partially to the Big Ben
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nimanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelMcKeeman, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review, I'm sure our future guests will find some useful information in your review. I'm delighted that you had a great stay with us and were well looked after by our Team. I do hope you'll get the opportunity to stay with us again and feel free to contact me if you have any questions or requests. Thanks again for your glowing review and I hope you all had a pleasant journey home. Kind regards, Rachel. (opsmgr.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hi stayed here 16th May for three nights. From the moment we arrived with a warm friendly welcome & easy check in, all the staff were very helpful making our stay perfect. We had a room on the top floor 14, which was very clean like the rest of the hotel. The only thing, we did think our room was quite small compared with other premier inns. The breakfasts are excellent in very comfortable surroundings. The bar is very comfortable with like the rest of the staff, very friendly & helpful staff, in particular Paul & Mirko. The staff are really a credit to the hotel & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends. Also lets not forget the fantastic location which was perfect for us to take the 'Thames Clipper' to the O2 for 'the Comedy Gala', great night. A cruise on the Thames is a must do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelMcKeeman, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
It was fantastic to read that you had such a great stay and I hope you had a great time at the Comedy Gala too. We certainly are fortunate to have such fantastic views in the hotel and whilst we can't guarantee these to always be available, we're always open to requests. I appreciate your comments about our room size and hope that you still felt value for money. Thank you for personally commending our team members, they really appreciate special mentions on Trip Advisor. Should you stay again and prefer a larger room to that of a view please do let me know and I can add a request to your booking. Kind regards, Rachel. (opsmgr.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
211 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived here just about check in time. The rooms on the front with a view were all spoken for but they said they could get us in one the next night. The first room was nice but a very small window facing mostly a brick wall was its downfall. They were so great about the switch and moved all of our luggage while we were out exploring. The rooms are cozy and this one on 12 had a huge window with a beautiful view of the Eye and somewhat of Big Ben. The bathroom was very nice and really clean. It had great water pressure, too. We paid 10pounds for 5 days of Internet and two devices. Reasonable, I think. It's also in a great place to get to around London. The Waterloo station is about a 5 minute walk and can take you to Windsor and Hampton to name just a few. Westminster is just around the corner and across the bridge. These are two huge stations that can get you anywhere. Would return here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scranton38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelMcKeeman, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and it was great to read that you'd stay with us again. We of course wish all of our rooms had views of London but I'm pleased our fantastic team found you a special room on the second night of your stay, we can never guarantee these rooms to be available but we always try our best. I hope you had a pleasant onward journey and should you get the chance to stay again please get in touch with me if you have any requests or questions. Kind regards, Rachel. (opsmgr.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our family spent one night here recently and we were blown away but the standard of the hotel and the service received. As our son is disabled and in a wheelchair it is often difficult to find a hotel that caters for our many "needs" but this hotel was just wonderful. Booking in at reception was hassle free and quick. We managed to get in slightly earlier then the check in time of 2pm but this hotel offers a room where you can store your luggage before and after checking in/out which was fantastic. We had a family room on the 11th floor which was very clean and spacious enough for the wheelchair to go around the room. It was our first time in London with our son and we had booked to go onto the London Eye and Sealife Centre. Both of these places were a 'stones throw' from the hotel and there were also a few bars and restaurants nearby which was ideal to eat in if you didn't want to go back to the hotel. We had booked the meal deal in the restaurant which was unbelievable value and we would suggest to anyone to pay for this service. The restaurant was very clean, the staff were remarkable and could not help us enough and the food was plentiful and just beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was also fantastic with the food being kept hot and when anything ran out it was replaced straight away.
To conclude I would say to anyone travelling with our without a family to visit this hotel. Perfect customer service and excellent spot for exploring. Special thanks to Sarah who was on reception who was just lovely, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for her and Paul who was the Food and Beverage Manager who treated our son like royalty letting us have a quiet spot in the restaurant to blend his evening meal and bending over backwards to make sure we were well looked after. Thank you again for a wonderful stay, we would thoroughly recommend this gem of a hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecliffords2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelMcKeeman, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
It was a pleasure reading your review and thank you for taking time to write it following your stay with us. I'm so pleased that you were really looked after during your stay by our fantastic team and I'm sure Sarah and Paul will be delighted that you've personally mentioned them too. It would be great to welcome you all back again and please get in touch with me personally if I can make any special arrangements for you. Kind regards, Rachel. (opsmgr.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we stayed here on Friday 16th of May, initially for one night but due to me becoming very ill we ended up having to stay a second night. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. From check-in to check-out and everything in-between, perfect customer service and always with a smile. Our stay felt very personal even though we were right in the middle of London.

We can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: there is a hospital in close proximity, sirens can be heard at any hour as well as noise from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelMcKeeman, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, it was great to read that you had a brilliant stay with us and I do hope you're feeling much better and falling ill during your trip to London. It was a pleasure to read that our Team really looked after you during your stay. If you get the chance to stay again and would prefer to be in a room away from the hospital please get in touch with me and I can add the request onto your booking for you. I hope you had a pleasant journey home and I look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Rachel. (opsmgr.londonwaterloowestminsterbridge@whitbread.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel
Address: 85 York Road | Waterloo, London SE1 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the London Eye and enjoy skyscraper views of London's iconic skyline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Waterloo (Westminster Bridge) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing