We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”
Review of Wolkite restaurant

Wolkite restaurant
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #164 of 24,338 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Islington
Description: It is an ethiopian restaurant which serves authentic and traditional food . In this restaurant you could get a wider selection of meat, vegitable, fish and chicken dishes. We serve our food with gluten free teff enjera and rice. We also have Ethiopian beer , Wine and home brewe hony wine.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The food was so good it was emotional. I used the bread to wipe away tears of joy. The chicken especially was some of the best chicken i have wver experienced in my 27 yrs on this planet. Thank you!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Three vegans, one gf and three meat eaters ate here and we loved it. Such delicious fresh food, all served on yummy injera. The service was wonderful and we ate til we were stuffed for £10 each. Go!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank tan0rexic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Amazing restaurant selling great value traditional Ethiopian dishes. As well as selling great meat dishes, they were also very helpful to the vegans and veggies in our party, so I'd definitely recommend for people trying to avoid meat and dairy too. Service was also very friendly. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank lukecroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We are familiar with Ethiopian food having lived in the Washington DC area where there is a sizeable community. This place in London blows the rest out of the water! Thorough menu, subtle spices, friendly service. Our only complaint is that service can be a bit on the slow side, but the wait is well worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank pickyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Just wow! As a group of 5 we had never tried Ethiopian food before, but we certainly left as fans! The style of cuisine is something completely different from most Western culture. Hands in, sharing, and dirty fingers, we all loved the experience and the taste was something a lot of us had never had before. On top of that the family atmosphere was brilliant and added to the experience. It's a hidden gem. Thanks to all the team, you did a great job. see you again soon!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E2564IEbenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Wolkite restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wolkite restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.