We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Ranked #498 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BAD”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This place looks more like a creche (a lot of teenagers making a lot of noise). You pay just for bed and that's it. Shower dirty and the drain was clogged. For bfast you get only tea, coffee and toast with gem and nutella and is served only for 2 hours from 8 to 10 which is bad if your plan is to go early in the morning to visit the city

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Florin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    25
    16
    21
See reviews for
7
10
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My #1 complaint is that there was absolutely no cooling in the room. I was in the female 6 bedroom and it was BLAZING hot, 4 of us did not even sleep. One in the group asked about it and there were no fans available. The bathroom/shower was not cleaned properly and the facilities still need some work - 1 toilet out of order and our door wasn't closing properly while I was there. Breakfast needs improvement. On the bright side - this is a good location, the staff was friendly and the other people staying at the hostel were pretty laid back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

David, Panama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Finally a hostel that is not too obsessed with being cool and offer all kinds of exiting activities!

We actually had the downstairs room with kitchen view that someone else mentioned. Granted, it was not a great view, but with a hostel I don't expect that. I liked the room as it was quiet and peaceful. A great place to rest and sleep.

The staff are super nice and helpful. They have power converters and safety lockers.

The location is also superb. Right next to hyde park and tube station for the central line.

I'm definetly staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here in a double room. I didn't expect much as its a hostel but it was awful! In the basement with a window looking straight into the kitchen (anyone in the kitchen could see into the room and bathroom) the bathroom door couldn't be closed because of a broken handle, the carpet needed hoovering, the bed felt like it was made of stone with hard nasty pillows. Other guests came to the kitchen in the early hours of the morning being really loud, and the drains from an upstairs bathroom ran outside the window so it was noisy and smelly. The location was really good but nothing on earth would make me stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank loucrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Short version:
The 23 Hostel is undergoing refurbishment and is still unfinished - rooms shouldn't be sold to travellers until the rooms / facilities / doors etc are in working and usable condition. Rooms are not secure, breakfast needs work and hostel is not cleaned regularly.

Long version:

Good points:
The hostel is in a great location, close to 2 Tube stops on the north side of Hyde Park and on a quiet street parallel to a high street with restaurants, supermarkets and shops. The hostel itself is going to be quite nice once it is finished, rooms above ground have high ceilings and the mattresses we had were brand new.

Bad points:
*The hostel has a lot of potential but our stay started off very badly and only slightly improved. Our 4 bed dorm and the hostel in general is unfinished - screws and wheels strewn on the floor, wardobe in pieces leaning against the wall, no water in toilet so unusable, bunk bed mattresses and duvet covers still in plastic packaging. At least that means they were clean but not given proper sheets and receptionist just stole pillows from another room for us, had to unpack beds ourselves.
*The closet-sized shared bathroom (1 toilet, 1 shower) was not cleaned during our 4 night stay, floors were always wet, no toilet paper, soap or handtowel, scummy shower floor.
*Dorm rooms are not secure as some rooms do not lock from the inside and keys to the doors are not given out as a policy unless you demand them (which we did for peace of mind). Two people had things go missing (a necklace and a phone) and there was a very suspicious man at the hostel who knocked on our door early one morning and stuck his head in to see what we had in our room. He also sat in the lounge every day facing the stairs and watched everyone come and go. Staff said they couldn't do anything about him but it was very disturbing.
*The breakfast was below average (1 cereal available (bran flakes) and toast, hot milk (?), orange juice, apple juice, tea and coffee).
*We also saw one of the dorms downstairs - these feel a bit like a dungeon as the ceilings are very low and it's dark in the passageway so probably wouldn't want to stay here.
*The first receptionist we met didn't really know what she was doing but the other 2 reception staff we met were quite helpful. We did have to ask several times to get someone to fix our toilet but they did seem to be trying.

So:
We wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone unless and until it is properly finished and things actually work. When it's finished the hostel will probably be a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs as rooms belowground have very low ceilings. Ask for a key to lock your dorm do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Astor Queensway Hostel
#100 of 843 in London
240 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Atlas Hostels
Atlas Hostels
#153 of 843 in London
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#41 of 843 in London
349 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#150 of 843 in London
281 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hyde Park Hostel

Property: Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Address: 23 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JR, England (Formerly The 23 Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hyde Park Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
However long you're staying and whatever you want to accomplish, you'll find everything you need right here at Gallery Hyde Park. We are now offering: Free breakfast Free Wi-Fi throughout the entire building Free linen Free Safes 24 hour reception We are located in a newly refurbished Victorian building just two minutes walk from Queensway and Bayswater stations giving you easy access to the Central, Circle and District lines. And, most importantly, making it really easy for you to find us. What's more, the stunning Hyde Park is practically on our front door just waiting for you to explore it. We're only a few minutes from the famous Portobello Road, complete with markets, bars and restaurants. And if shopping's your thing the world-famous Oxford Street is just a short bus (24hrs) or tube ride away and so is Piccadilly Circus. When you're traveling, life rarely runs on time and a friendly face can be just what you need at two o'clock in the morning. That's why you'll find a 24-hour reception, complete with awesome, helpful receptionists. Along with free luggage storage and free safes to ensure you can enjoy your holidays on your schedules. Please note: We are a backpacker hostel and therefore cater strictly for the 18 to 35 year old age bracket only. A passport or government photo ID is required upon check in. Check-in from 14:00 Check-out by 10.30am We accept payment by cash & credit card. Cancellation policy - 48 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gallery Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing