We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in London.”
Review of The Forester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Forester
Ranked #58 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sittard, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in London.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a room for 4. Although not really like staying at the Ritz, our room was spacious enough. Beds are soft but they slept really well. The room was clean and of course cleaned every day.
Breakfast very good. You can choose between continental and full English, or in fact have both.
One the most beautiful pubs I've ever seen and the pub garden must be one of the best secrets of Ealing.
Fine and not expensive restaurant. The curries can be very hot.
And i do love the personel.
Ten minutes walk from underground. All kinds of restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeWolven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    49
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
14
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Forester was better than we expected. The room had two double beds, plenty of storage space, a small table and two chairs, tea and coffee making facilities and a spacious bathroom with excellent shower. There is a separate entrance with two security doors so, if you're late back you don't need to rely on the pub being open.

The pub itself is great with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The beer garden is great and you wouldn't think you were in a busy area.

Breakfast was a bonus, we were only expecting a continental but, were offered a cooked English, which together with cereals, orange juice toast etc was more than adequate.

Situation wise it was only about a 15 minute walk straight down the street to Northfields station which goes to London Kingscross. Only required one change to to Jubilee line for 02 arena. One evening we were returning after midnight and felt save walking back to the pub.

We had no problem sleeping even though we were at the front of the pub with windows open. Then again we had two very action packed days with early starts.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Special mention goes to the Newzeland bar tender and the lady serving breakfast on both mornings.

The whole place was clean and was really good value for money. We've stayed in much more expensive hotels that weren't this good.

We shall definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flowerpot89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

TL;DR version: Don't go to The Forester Ealing if you are planning to arrive late, and/or if you like sleep.

Full version:

Really great room (for the price), BUT there were two huge problems with our stay: our late arrival booking was forgotten, leaving us stranded on the street in the middle of the night for some time; and the noise. Oh, the noise.

Late arrival: we phoned about a week in advance of our arrival to let the managers know we'd be arriving at approximately half past midnight, depending on how fast we could get from King's Cross to Ealing. When we arrived at The Forester at 00:44, it was dark, locked down, and no-one was answering our numerous attempts at phoning. Eventually a fellow guest came down to let us in, at which point the night manager emerged sleepily from his room and asked what the fuss was about. Our heart rates calmed down, we stopped googling emergency places to stay, and got keys to our room, but the lack of contrition and general blasé attitude really soured us from the beginning.

Noise: Yes, pubs can be noisy (the answer we were given every time we asked whether something could be done about the noise). No, this doesn't mean it's written into law that guests should have loud, thumping bass playing into their rooms until past midnight, and then be woken up again by loud thumping bass (followed by blasting TV) from 7am. The latter was especially annoying given that it was purely for staff members' benefit -- there were obviously no customers in the pub at 7am. We fell asleep every night blasting brown noise into our ears with noise-isolating earphones. Again, complaints were met with nonchalance and a "pubs-are-noisy" shrug. We've stayed in other pubs. They aren't necessarily noisy in the guest rooms, and they don't all play loud music, especially not in the morning.

We were eventually, begrudgingly given a measly 5% discount, served up with an argument about how mild these transgressions were. While it's not impossible that the noise situation is better in other rooms, we will not be touching The Forester again with a bargepole.

(Oh, and don't stay here if you're vegetarian. Veggie cooked breakfast options are: egg. No mushrooms, tomatoes, veggie sausages, nowt.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClioCatOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped at this place as we where coming to see the fight, firstly the room was basic but very clean, breakfast was good, thia food was excellent, location quiet for London but the best part of our stay was the staff (hence the 5 rating) who where brill and could not do enough for you. special mention to the Australian bar maid, thanks for making us welcome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisworthington48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a night at The Forester with a group of friends. Decided to book due to proximity to Wembley stadium and I'm very glad we did. The room was big, clean and comfortable for the 6 of us and the staff went the extra mile to ensure our stay was pleasant. The bar maid in particular couldn't do enough for us. The Thai food is very authentic and lovely and the breakfasts were very impressive. So glad we chose this place and will return should we need west London accommodation again. Thanks for a top stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ross186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a Saturday night as we wanted to be in Wembley which wasn't far. The room had 3 single beds and was very comfortable and clean. We were happy with the value as free street parking, tea and coffee and breakfast served in the morning and we didn't get any noise from the pub downstairs. We enjoyed a few drinks in the pub and had Thai Pad noodles for tea which was delicious. Only 15 minute walk max to tube station and easy 5 minute walk to Ealing Main Street. We would recommend and book again, thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank calvertchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

No real surprise that rooms over a pub (albeit a very charming old-style London pub) would not be very luxurious, but we expected better than this. Our room (No.6) was too small for a double really, with no bedside tables or lamps. The only light in the room was an overhead 3-bulb fitting with one bulb broken. The TV mounted high up on the wall worked OK but was a trifle small. The ill-fitting single-glazed sash windows were a struggle to close, and had thin unlined curtains which didn't keep the light out. The tea and coffee making facilities were OK, but only one cup provided. And the bed was pretty awful, with a very cheap double mattress which gave me a dreadful night. The en-suite was very large, with a very good shower at one end and a loo at the other end, a sink and not much else between. The breakfast however, was excellent, and the previous evening we had a very good Thai green curry in the Thai-themed restaurant at the back of the pub, so on that basis rates 3 stars and not bad value at £70/night. One final note; parking can be a problem in the neighbouring streets, so bear that in mind if you have a larger vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John080347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#26 of 554 in London
67 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 554 in London
750 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#56 of 554 in London
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Croft Court Hotel
#70 of 554 in London
118 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#16 of 554 in London
141 reviews
Grove Guest House
#13 of 554 in London
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forester

Property: The Forester
Address: 2 Leighton Road | West Ealing, London W13 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Forester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Forester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing