We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulham does it again!”
Review of The Malt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Malt House
Ranked #32 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A delightfully tasteful concept well situated and offering excellent value for money - that obviously has taken what customers want seriously and applied it.Simple things like hooks for coats in main bar, European plug option,touch less entry to rooms, dressing gowns in rooms, sofa, welcoming and well stocked garden, comfy seating, excellent use of heritage colours, subtle ability to dim lights at the right time, very polite staff, very quiet rooms during pub hours, excellent well looked after garden, very powerful shower, large bed, well decorated room , no blaring music in bar, excellent workmanship, finish on blinds in room very good, great choice of music over breakfast. And has a large round table in the restaurant - great fro groups who actually want to talk to more than one person. Well done

I would definitely go again - they are having a massive garden party end of June so I will be attending that!

Available for mystery visits - as I have nothing better to do!

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful - no noise from downstairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theopeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for The Malt House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Situated a few minutes from Fulham Broadway this place is great. Ultimately it is a pub and restaurant with bedrooms, but it is cozy, comfortable and relaxing. All the staff I encountered were laid back but attentive, with nothing too much trouble. If I was being picky I could say signage to the bedrooms could be better, the coffee machine was broken at breakfast, but it's not relevant to how much I enjoyed my stay! Try it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Clean, elegant rooms, and a great couple of nights' sleep. Your own personal Nespresso machine in the room; a great shower; and to top it all off a great pub downstairs serving real ale. Seriously, what more do you need? Great value (for London!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshire_Fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked this for an overnight stay whilst on business attending an exhibition at Earls a Court, it is a 3 minute taxi ride or 10 minute walk away so ideally located. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, rooms were lovely and the food was fantastic - best pie and chips I've had for a long time! Could not have asked for more, also more than reasonably price for the location, I would definitely recommend this place and would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelliefoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We came across this lovely B&B on Late Rooms, and it seemed the most reasonable in terms of price against the standard of rooms. We weren't disappointed when we arrived! The staff greeted us warmly and took us to our room which was called 'Hops'. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with shabby chic furniture and a comfortable bed. The en suite was clean and had a powerful shower.

The continental breakfast was included in the room rate. We had teas and coffees, bowls of fruit, a selection of cereals, toast and croissants etc. We found this to be plenty, but there was the choice to buy a traditional English breakfast too.

The nearest tube station is Fulham Broadway, and it only took us a few minutes to walk there from the B&B.

We would definitely recommend The Malt House if you're planning on staying in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_Miss_Sunshine_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay at The Malt House last weekend, really excellent value for money for London. The room was very well decorated and comfortable and the bathroom was great with a brilliant and very powerful shower, something that is often lacking in a hotel! Everything was also spotlessly clean.

What makes this place really stand out though is the staff, everyone we came across during our stay was great, very friendly, even the guy who served our breakfast in the morning having served us our drinks near closing time the night before!

Breakfast was very nice too, continental included in the room rate with the option to purchase additional cooked items. All was of excellent quality, fresh warm pastries and toast plus fresh juices.

Definitely a great find and we will be back next time we are visiting London. Particularly handy for visiting Earl's Court.

Room Tip: Worth paying the £15 extra for the bigger rooms, the smaller ones vary in size and the smallest migh...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMustangPriMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked this last minute via late rooms, having seen some really awful, much more expensive, local hotels on the internet. Could not have asked for better. Lovely pub, and beautiful, welcoming hotel rooms that are well-decorated (no floral curtains, stained green carpets here), spotless bathroom, and even a nespresso machine. Staff very friendly and professional. Would definitely recommend. Had the continental breakfast (part of the room rate), which was huge (cereal, fruit salad, toast, Danish pastries, juice, tea/coffee). WOW!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
#507 of 1,072 in London
459 reviews
Wimbledon
The Fox and Grapes
The Fox and Grapes
#111 of 563 in London
79 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#22 of 563 in London
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#49 of 563 in London
703 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 563 in London
619 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#25 of 563 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt House

Address: 17 Vanston Place | Fulham, London SW6 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £123 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malt House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian pub filled with character and good cheer, The Malt House reopened in February 2013 following a full refurbishment. Six luxurious en-suite double bedrooms are available on a Bed and Breakfast basis.The pub is situated in Fulham, a vibrant area of southwest London nestled between Putney and Chelsea.The Malt House kitchen is in the highly skilled hands of Marcus McGuinness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Malt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing