We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Malt House is a boutique hotel gem, with superb staff that made the stay stellar!”
Review of The Malt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Malt House
Ranked #31 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at the Malt House Hotel just this past week, and I could not have had a better experience! Our room was spotless, charming, and completely comfortable. The bed was ABSOLUTELY heaven, and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic!

A lot of care has been put into the decor of the establishment, and it has a casual cool that was modern yet strictly 'English'. The furnishings are all new, with a soothing color palette, and there was plenty of room for everything.

The continental breakfast was delicious and filling, the pub snacks were scrumptious, and an 'off the cuff' fish and chips that was specially made for myself and my traveling companion were OUT of this world!

By far the BEST part of the stay was the staff, who were UNFAILINGLY gracious, courteous, fun, helpful, thoughtful, and did their level best to assist us in ANY way possible.

As we were traveling with a wheelchair, The Malt House staff did everything in their power to assist us in storing the chair, moving our bags, and navigating the Tube with our special circumstances.

Tristan in particular deserves special recognition for his quick wit, tremendous desire to assist, and remarkable ability to make us 'yanks' feel like part of The Malt House family.

Overall, I would recommend this beautiful experience to anyone looking for classy boutique hotel stay in London. While it is a little removed from central London, it's proximity to the District Line Tube station makes for extraordinarily easy access to all of the major sights in the city, while also managing to bring visitors out to 'real' London-- with it's eclectic and richly diverse neighborhood setting.

There is even a great unique wine store across the street if one is in the mood for a bottle something top notch. At the local Tube station, about five minutes away, there are both a 'supermarket' and a pharmacy, as well as a Starbucks and several ATM machines, making travel just that much easier when life's necessities are in easy reach for the tourist.

Thank you, Malt House, for making our 'bucket list' trip fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pigskintoupee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed with our stay: I found The Malt House in Sawday's 'special places to stay' and frankly, there was nothing special about The Malt House. It is in a good location and the rooms are fit for purpose and tastefully decorated, however it is lacking in attention to detail and the customer service from some staff was sub-standard.

For instance, chef aprons and rubbish bags were left in the corridor leading up to the B&B rooms, which gave a bad first impression and made the place feel dirty and unkempt.

However, the main problem was the unorganised and unwelcoming breakfast service. A continental breakfast (included in the room price, cooked breakfast is extra) is not difficult to make yet it was served in a very haphazard and flustered manner by the one member of staff on duty. While we appreciated the fact the staff member was busy and under pressure to serve a lot of guests at once, it is simple enough to inform each party of guests what will be included in the breakfast and we were made to feel guilty for asking if we could have milk for our coffee and if we could have fruit juice which was advertised as being included. Everybody was waiting for a long time when it isn't difficult for the chef to warm some croissants through and chop fruit. Instead of seeing if we had everything we needed, the staff member proceeded to clear tables in a very flustered manner, before telling the chef in full view that 'that's it, you're done and you can go now' and then (worst of all) proceeded to go outside to smoke with a colleague while guests were still seated for breakfast and still needing attention. The quality of the breakfast produce was good on the whole (apart from lacklustre cereals: Rice Krispies, maybe upgrade to Dorset cereals or something less cheap looking) so it was a shame the service let everything down.

To make things worse, upon paying the bill we were handed the card machine and then ignored so I wasn't sure if everything had been done, so I asked if that was all and the staff member abruptly replied 'yes you're done'. No customer service skills whatsoever!

I don't normally write bad reviews on trip advisor but felt compelled to do so in this case, as we were made to feel as though we were in the way and it is a shame as The Malt House has potential to be very pleasant (other staff members were helpful). I hope they up their game as at the moment, it's in no way deserving of the price tag or inclusion in Sawday's.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Bottletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were delighted to find this gem of a property! Only a 5min walk to the Fulham Broadway tube station, with a drycleaner across the street and a coin-op launderette down the street. Very quiet neighborhood, and the downstairs pub quiets down by 10pm. Looks to be recently renovated, very clean. Staff was incredibly courteous and helpful and the continental breakfast was of the highest quality - fruit cut to order, freshly baked croissants and toasted bread. Full English breakfast was enormous and delicious. We rarely stay in the same place twice because we like to "explore", but we will definitely stay here on our next trip to London!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A delightfully tasteful concept well situated and offering excellent value for money - that obviously has taken what customers want seriously and applied it.Simple things like hooks for coats in main bar, European plug option,touch less entry to rooms, dressing gowns in rooms, sofa, welcoming and well stocked garden, comfy seating, excellent use of heritage colours, subtle ability to dim lights at the right time, very polite staff, very quiet rooms during pub hours, excellent well looked after garden, very powerful shower, large bed, well decorated room , no blaring music in bar, excellent workmanship, finish on blinds in room very good, great choice of music over breakfast. And has a large round table in the restaurant - great fro groups who actually want to talk to more than one person. Well done

I would definitely go again - they are having a massive garden party end of June so I will be attending that!

Available for mystery visits - as I have nothing better to do!

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful - no noise from downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theopeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Situated a few minutes from Fulham Broadway this place is great. Ultimately it is a pub and restaurant with bedrooms, but it is cozy, comfortable and relaxing. All the staff I encountered were laid back but attentive, with nothing too much trouble. If I was being picky I could say signage to the bedrooms could be better, the coffee machine was broken at breakfast, but it's not relevant to how much I enjoyed my stay! Try it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Clean, elegant rooms, and a great couple of nights' sleep. Your own personal Nespresso machine in the room; a great shower; and to top it all off a great pub downstairs serving real ale. Seriously, what more do you need? Great value (for London!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshire_Fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked this for an overnight stay whilst on business attending an exhibition at Earls a Court, it is a 3 minute taxi ride or 10 minute walk away so ideally located. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, rooms were lovely and the food was fantastic - best pie and chips I've had for a long time! Could not have asked for more, also more than reasonably price for the location, I would definitely recommend this place and would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelliefoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#32 of 579 in London
75 reviews
Rose and Crown
#43 of 579 in London
142 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Alma Hotel
The Alma Hotel
#28 of 579 in London
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cleveland
#18 of 579 in London
633 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#17 of 579 in London
474 reviews
Tulse Hill Hotel
#13 of 579 in London
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt House

Address: 17 Vanston Place | Fulham, London SW6 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £109 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malt House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian pub filled with character and good cheer, The Malt House reopened in February 2013 following a full refurbishment. Six luxurious en-suite double bedrooms are available on a Bed and Breakfast basis.The pub is situated in Fulham, a vibrant area of southwest London nestled between Putney and Chelsea.The Malt House kitchen is in the highly skilled hands of Marcus McGuinness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Malt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing