We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but needs to be quicker!”
Review of The Coffee Lounge

The Coffee Lounge
Ranked #256 of 671 Coffee & Tea in London
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: The Coffee Lounge can be found in the magnificent old Equitable House building overlooking the recently regenerated General Gordon Square in the heart of Woolwich.We pride ourselves on being local and independent, providing an excellent and friendly service. Plus we have some pretty tasty food and drink too! We're open seven days a week with a gorgeous selection of freshly prepared baguettes, bagels, toasties and paninis all lovingly made each day in our kitchen. We also have a delicious range of cakes and patisseries provided by Greenwich-based Paul Rhodes and the Queen of cakes Lizzie D.Our coffee tastes great whether you're into Americanos or Mochas and our Hot Chocolates, Smoothies and Frappes are proving popular to.Stop by when you're next in town, we look forward to welcoming you soon TCL x
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice but needs to be quicker!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

A fantastic coffee shop to chill out with good food too. Not so great in the morning when you need a coffee quick on the way too work, slow is an understatement. If this can improve I would five out of five.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tearsinrain000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good coffee and ambieance”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

best in Woolwich friendly and efficient staff have to wait some time for a toastie though.on a personal note would like more choice without mayonnaise. lounge suffers from same problem as other coffee shops in that some chairs are taken by people who sit there for a long time without buying much as far as I can see and use it as a meeting point

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab coffee, wonderful sandwiches & cakes !”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As someone below has written- exactly what Woolwich needs! Friendly staff, great atmosphere and quality coffee. I've had a range of their homemade sandwiches and cakes & a satisfied customer every time. Long live the Coffee Lounge! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dilemma...”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After many years of using tripadvisor, I've decided that I ought to write my first review...though this does pose something of a dilemma for me...I'd really rather that the Coffee Lounge didn't become too popular, so that next time I visit I can sink into one of those lovely leather sofas with an excellent coffee and my choice of newspaper. On the other hand, I think they really need some support, there are far too many bland chain coffee shops all over the place which ruin most town centres. So if you want a great cup of coffee in a relaxing atmosphere visit here....or not. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food but it looked very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg999P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Started well !”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Service is excellent, Coffe is good ! Started off well with the first manager, but with the new manager , things have gone down.
Staff seem to be less happy , and the once free wifi advertised on the window, has been restricted.
It shows you that a pleasant customer led Manager is important . Will this place go the way of a boring Coffee shop !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Coffee Lounge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hey Victor C,
Thanks for the review, sort of...!
When we first opened you're right, we had no restrictions on the internet. We're an independent business venturing into the world of coffee shops for the first time and our mission was to open our doors to as many people as possible and launch with huge success, which we did, hurrah!

Our next mission, aside from delivering great food & drinks to our lovely customers, was to make sure that we lasted more than the first six months, a mission shared with pretty much every new business I should think! This means looking at boring things like margins and overheads and making sure that Yes, we sell things like coffee, baguettes & cakes to our customers.

At the end of the day we are a business, albeit a friendly & relaxed one, and we feel perfectly justified in offering a super nice place to sit, relax, read, browse & talk in exchange for our customers buying some of our v good value and high quality food & drink.

We also think it's fair enough that after two hours of internet browsing in our comfy surrounds we ask that you have another little spend before heading back to enjoy another two hours of browsing time... We are not alone in this and follow in the footsteps of lots of other cafes and bars.

We have got a new manager, the wonderful Vish, who is going to ensure that The Coffee Lounge has a long and successful future. He is absolutely customer focused, maybe have a chat with him when you're next in, his customer service will knock your socks off...

I hope this goes some way to explain the situation, the Free Wifi stickers on the window stil stand true, I'd tipex on "for two hours" but this might ruin the great view across the Square!

And if a 'boring' coffee shop is a place that is able to continue offering a great selection of produce in a lovely setting with genuine and friendly staff then boring we are proud to be!

We look forward to seeing you soon, for two hours at the very least! TCL x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Lounge also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing