We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious, awesome food and great service”

Indian Express. West Kensington
Ranked #67 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Your local for fine indian cuisine in west kensington
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, awesome food and great service”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Don't let the name fool you. This is a gem in a city full of Indian restaurants. A small quaint unpretentious restaurant in West Kensington. The owner (Rocky) recommended green chilli chicken which was amazing. We also tried lamb zalfrezi and chicken tikka masala. All dishes had a great balance of flavors and spiciness. Not greasy or too salty, just right. The service is excellent and I can't say enough kind words about Rocky who is so friendly and makes you feel right at home. The prices are amazing compared to other overrated restaurants. I will highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends. We still have a few days left in London and will probably be back again....and again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    135
    27
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good - but take your time”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The express is only in this lovely restaurant name - we were waiting for quite a while for the food to come, but not in vain.
The food was excellent and the service was attentive and efficient.
It is a family run restaurant and one of the three brothers who run and own the place (so we'd understood) was our waiter, and gave us the feeling that we're in good hands, although he was a little over zealous in marketing his restaurant.
we had vegetable Biryani and vegetable Balti - both dishes were delicious and the prices are reasonable.
All in all it's a good Indian restaurant and if we would have lived around we'd probably return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on reviews and were very happy with the choice. The service was charming and attentive and the food very good. It only seats 18 people so call and book if you want to get a table.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely surprise”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have never been a big fan of Indian express, but as I was rushing at my meeting, I thought to step by and take food. I was pleased and surprised of the variety of dishes, and as I am not introduced with Indian cuisine, friendliness of the staff, which really helped me through the process f choosing perfect meal. Loved it !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eimantas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I didn't do my homework”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Before going to this restaurant please study your map carefully I had no idea it would be a $40 cab ride each way from our location in Chelsea .
Unfortunately our night was doomed before we even got there, my husband was a little upset about my mistake. I went completely on the reviews here on trip advisor. It is a very tiny restaurant and very very casual. The people who ran it could not have been nicer and the food was fine. I just don't know how it could be number 11 of all the restaurants in London.

Helpful?
4 Thank valgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Express. West Kensington also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Indian Express. West Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing