We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Cost Incredible Italian Food”
Review of Mamma Mia Pizzeria

Mamma Mia Pizzeria
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #5,011 of 24,398 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Islington
Description: Located at the start of Hornsey Road, our cozy restaurant is perfect for couples or small groups up to 16 to dine in a refreshingly laid back Italian setting you might find in Sicily or Naples. We source our own quality original wine list for ideal pairings with our food, as well as serving beer & authentic Italian soft drinks. Our Arancini & Pizza are second to none!
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Just off of the Holloway Road and down the street from Arsenal's stadium, is a relatively undiscovered Italian restaurant serving incredible food at a crazy low price. Cooked fresh, right in front of you, they're perfect for breakfast, lunch, dinner and any other excuse you can think of to nip in for a bite to eat. The owner, head chef and waiter are all rolled into one lovely old Italian fella, cooking anything off the hand written menu and anything else you could think to throw his way. There's a really authentic family feel as his son sits in the corner on his grandmothers knee, battered roller skates on, folding napkins like a pro. Supporting local business has never tasted so good.
Can not rate this place highly enough and think you'd be mad to even consider one of the overpriced chains on the Holloway Road!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kieranhiscock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

OMG. Why do more people not know about this place? A real neighbourhood gem with delicious food, cosy atmosphere and home-style cooling. I feel like Mama Nona must be out the back preparing dishes with secret recipes handed down to her from generations before. And you know what else? It's cheap! Freshly prepared with delicious ingredients. I've been here 3 times in a week and will never tire of the food. Best pizza in London! And the spaghetti meatballs, don't get me started on the spaghetti meatballs... mmmmmm.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Traditional Sicilian food made fresh to order right opposite Arsenal stadium. The best pizza you'll find in town, guaranteed!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank joek198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I went into this place with low expectations and found some of the best food I've ever had in my life. It's just one old Italian guy who takes your order then goes roll you some pizza dough and make you the most incredible pizza you'll ever have. The pasta is amazing too. The salads not so much but that's not what you come for.

It's cheap, actually got a lovely ambiance inside and the best pizza you'll ever have. I just moved my office 2 mins away from here and have tried 5 pizza places between Highbury and Holloway Road, this is the one.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 585jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

The place is small and basic, but don't let the look let turn you away. It really worth coming in. The selection is certainly not wide, but it is real home made, freshly and beautifully. The staff is actually Italian, so you get real authentic food.
Highly recommended!

Date of visit: January 2016
2  Thank gaborp146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mamma Mia Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Mia Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.