We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, Very Busy and Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #156 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I regularly travel through Kings Cross, which is a pleasure as the redevelopment draws to a close. We called into the hotel bar last evening for the first time. It is extremely busy but the staff were consistently helpful and friendly. The bar meals were adapted to suit our requirements and with a smile (basically no chips, with an alternate of a small dish of mixed veg. offered). The gents was spotless. I hope they keep the standard up. WC's really do say a lot about a detail even top quality places ignore at their peril. We also like the champagne bar at St. Pancras. This is an alternate, premium priced, option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of our GNH Bar here at the Great Northern Hotel and I do hope that you continue to be regulars when you're passing through King's Cross Station. Best wishes, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

I spent a lot of time searching for the perfect hotel in central and northern London to take my then girlfriend too as a surprise visit on the day I proposed to her. After much searching the Great Northern Hotel ticked all the boxes and I was not disappointed when we arrived. We were meet with a genuine smile in reception and shown to our room (524) with an amazing view over St Pancras Station as I had requested. The room was very quite (considering all the hustle and bustle going on outside) and comfortable. The pantry at the end of the floor was a great addition with quality cake and biscuits as throughout the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: 524 has an amazing view over St Pancras and is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Gareth, thank you for posting such a lovely review after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern and our congratulations to you both! I do hope we get to chance to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.....maybe even for your wedding! Very best wishes, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I've just spent a fabulous weekend here. The couchette room had ample room for a short stay and was very quiet and comfortable. Everything about the hotel, restaurant and bar is of the highest quality and the staff are friendly and helpful without being too OTT and obtrusive. I usually stay in Firmdale hotels but I'll be staying at The Great Northern in future, much better value and the little extras like the pantry really make the difference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Great Northern Hotel and for posting such a wonderful review. I'm very pleased to hear we're your new favourite in town! I look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in London. Very best wishes, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I must have walked past this hotel without spotting it countless times, but it is very conveniently located on the edge of the revitalised and now very impressive Kings Cross station.

Smaller and perhaps less glitzy than its neighbour across the road in St Pancras, it is nonetheless just as comfortable with a lively bar in the evenings. Staff are friendly and very eager to please, and the rooms, while quite compact, are beautifully appointed.

We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for your very kind words about us here at the Great Northern Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you'll be back and do hope that I get the opportunity to say hello. Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

From the moment you are given your key card you can tell this hotel exudes the sort of quality and attention to detail rarely seen in hotels these days, regardless of their star rating.

The atmosphere of the whole hotel is air and light, verging on contemporary with hints of deco here and there. You'll enjoying strolling down the wide light corridors as you head to the self service pantry to collect a little treat for yourselves.

The Nespresso machines are a welcome touch, and the Loewe in room entertainment system offers both a fantastic selection and suffers none of the annoying delay/lag that almost all major hotel chain systems suffer from.

Getting on the Internet is simple, and the connection is great quality.

Whilst it is difficult to find faults with the hotel, our room could have been bigger, but this is common of most London hotel rooms that don't cost twice the price.

Overall there is very little that could be done to make this hotel any better, and this will be my first choice when staying in this are of London again.



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stmills-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern. We appreciate your kind words and it is always nice to hear that our offering is just what you are looking for in a hotel. I do hope that I get the opportunity to say hello when you are next staying in London. Very best wishes, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Expect a warm welcome from this very centrally located hotel, which is a rare treat, especially in the establishments surrounding Kings Cross.
We arrived at 10.30am, and were expecting to dump our bags and head off. We had 2 rooms booked for the family, and we were offered the 1st room on arrival, and a promise of the adjoining room shortly after lunch.....nice. We asked for a late check out on departure, and were offered 1 room until 3pm, it's these little touches that make all the difference.
Brilliant refurb of a very old building, lots of quirky design details, which gave a very boutique feel to the place. One of which were the obscure glazed doors to the loo......(doesn't leave much to the imagination in a small room)..... Other than this I loved the decor.
Rooms aren't big, and each of the 3 rooms I went in to we're slightly different. Our room had a double shower, with 2 shower heads per person, with a separate wc. Toiletries were nice quality, and the fridge with comp water was refreshing.... There's a M&S food 30 seconds away, so you can stock up on essentials. Average price we paid for a 2 night stay was £225 per room/night, I guess it's par for the course.
The kids loved the pantry, which is located on each floor, and is basically like your home kitchen, with quality tea, coffee and biscuits running 24-7, and snacks such as delicious walnut cake, brownies and soft cookies which seem to appear like magic at different times throughout the day.
The booking process was awkward, we didn't receive email conformation of our stay despite ringing several times, but we were reassured that our reservation was on the system. Staff are all pleasant, its clear that the hotel has only been open a couple of months, and they are having teething problems with some of the technology, such as key cards not working.......no big deal.
The owners have got things right here, and savvy travellers will enjoy the touches......we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your very kind words about our team here at the Great Northern Hotel. I do hope you also got the chance to enjoy the pantry offering as well as your kids and I'm very pleased to hear you liked our special little touches. See you at the hotel again very soon. Thanks again, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to our return home after 5 days in London, we had been outside central London for the first 4 nights. The hotel has only been open about 3 months and everything was still very new and in good condition, an old building that has been beautifully restored. We arrived early but were still able to check-in as our room was ready. We had a slight problem gaining access to our floor as the electronic door would not open due to our room key having not been properly registered, however one of the staff came along and the matter was quickly sorted, this just seemed a teething problem with all the new technology. Our room was only small but perfectly adequate for our stay, it was a lovely design making use of the limited space. The bed is raised up on a platform directly in front of the window and was very comfortable. The quality "Loewe TV" had multiple channels including movies.
The bathroom had a large walk in shower with a large overhead rain head and a further shower attachment on the side wall.
A Nespresso Coffee Machine, fridge with complimentary bottles of water are all available in the room.
The window blind and curtains are all electronically controlled and close at the touch of their respective switches.
On each floor there is a pantry area with a further larger Nespresso Coffee Machine, fridge with milk, wagon wheel biscuits, cookies and a freshly made Victoria Sponge cake was brought in whilst we were there. There are also daily papers and stools to sit on.
We dined in the restaurant and found the food to be very good, the prices for the food and drinks reflect what you would expect to pay in central London so don't expect any bargains.
As we were not travelling home until 5pm on the Sunday we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst spending a further day sightseeing.
Overall this is a lovely place to stay, very modern and quirky in what is a very old building, staff are friendly and it is very handy for trains from both Kings Cross and St Pancras

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review after your stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. I am so pleased you appreciated all the inclusive elements of a stay here and do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon. Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#276 of 1,076 in London
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £192 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing