We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, unique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #157 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, unique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Definitely impressed with this hotel! The staff are incredibly welcoming and polite and the rooms are so lovely and unique! The pantry on every floor is lovely feature and has a range of tea, coffee, snacks and freshly made cake. It's also very close to St Pancras and King's Cross so was easy to locate. The only downside is that bed is quite hard and we found it uncomfortable to sleep on but other than that it was a perfect trip and I will definitely be visiting again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Sophie, thank you for your very kind words about our team and rooms after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern. Our mattresses are all made by Hypnos and our linen has a 500 thread count, however, I do understand that bed comfort is subjective to personal taste. I am pleased you enjoyed our pantry offering and our location worked so well for you. I do hope that we get chance to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    315
    77
    25
    29
See reviews for
109
557
90
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Went to the bar Saturday night beautiful building and bar ,service fantastic good music really nice vibe in there great cocktails good DJ not a lot of people in when we were there Saturday night 22.00-12.00 but really cool place recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daver68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dave, thank you for posting a review and I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in our G.N.H. bar. I do hope we get the chance to say hello when you're next over. Many thanks, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here in January with my partner for quick London break. We travelled to London kings cross. The hotel was located almost as soon as we got off the train. Check in was painless and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were of a decent size, for London, and very comfortable. I had an excellent night sleep. With the hotel been almost in Kings Cross it was easy to get to almost anywhere in London using the tube. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev230k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Kev, thank you so much for such a great review after your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the Great Northern and that our location worked so well for your London visit. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in town. Best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here with a friend while spending a couple of days in London for a concert.
The room was amazing and I loved the big walk-in shower. The pillows were probably the most comfortable things I've ever put my head on and we were both impressed by the communal pantry with complimentary cakes, chocolates and biscuits and a coffee machine.

We had cocktails down in the bar before going out, not cheap but you gotta spoil yourself sometimes! We were also very impressed by the breakfast (my friend's eggs with soldiers came with little wooly hats on. Simple things please simple minds, we thought that was lovely).

As for the staff, they were very lovely and helpful when we got in during the early hours and requested an extra pillow and brought it up to the room for us quickly even though they were fairly busy.

Spotlessly clean, lovely atmosphere and perfect location (especially if you aren't overly familiar with London)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahsiancrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hannah, wow....thank you for such a wonderful review after your stay with us here at the Great Northern! I'm delighted to hear you appreciated all the things that we think make us special too. Many thanks for your kind words about the hotel and our team and I do hope that I get chance to say hello when you are back in London. Very best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have not been lucky enough to stay here yet but I have treated myself to a couple of evenings in the bar, before going home, to cocktails. By no means are they cheap at £12 plus per cocktail but oh are they worth every penny. Unfortunatly they are so nice my husband and I did end up with a £100 plus bar bill one boozy night. But each cocktail is made with care an attention unliike to mass produced cocktails in most pubs/bars. The decor is perfect. Very stylish but not over the top.it feels intimate and private. I suspect I will be seduced into another visit but I must try not to be so indulgent. A great venue for a girly night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Erica, thank you so much for your wonderful review and I'm delighted to hear you're such a fan of the G.N.H. bar and our amazing cocktails! I do hope that I get chance to say hello sometime when you're with us and that you get chance to treat yourself to a night at the hotel very soon. Thanks again, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel the night before an early train to Brussels, the hotel was in the perfect location for the Eurostar. The hotel had been wonderfully decorated, Lots of attention to detail and it had been done in a sympathetic way so that the building kept its charm. The pantry at the end of the corridor was great, but it would have been better to have a kettle and tea/coffee in the room for first thing in the morning! Would have been nice for breakfast to be included too. Overall a great stay, we would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review after your stay with us at the Great Northern. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here and that our ideal location across the road from Eurostar worked for you. I am in the process of sourcing a small, stylish kettle to pop alongside the in room Nespresso machine, so hopefully you'll be able to make a cup of tea in your room when you are next with us. Best regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel has just undergone a 40 million pound refit. There are deals to be had online, but £200 for chic luxury is not going to break the bank. Just one negative remark, breakfast is extra. That said, my wife and I had a superb pre-Valentines city stay. I would recommend it if you are looking for a luxury hotel with real panache and character.

Room Tip: Check out the deals online
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terence b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Terence, thank you so much for such a lovely review and I'm delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation and I do hope that I get chance to welcome you both back to the Great Northern very soon. Best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing