We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but the rooms are too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #149 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very good but the rooms are too small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is lovely and its location is brilliant. The problem is that they have squeezed in far too many rooms so the rooms are tiny. When we stayed it was in the biggest of the three styles of rooms and it was still very small. The pictures on the website make the rooms look much larger than they are. The bathroom was so close to the bed and it had a glass twin swing door that had a gap in the middle so it was hardly private. The bed was really comfortable though and and it was quiet for a good nights sleep. The bar downstairs is really nice and the pantry idea at the end of each corridor is quirky and kind of works. Worth a try.

Room Tip: When they are all the same price choose the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Craig, thank you for posting a review after your recent stay with us and I am glad to hear that there were many aspects of your time at the hotel that you enjoyed. Being a listed building we have had to keep the layout of our rooms within their original position so I'm sorry to hear that you found the space too small. I do hope that we get chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and ask that you contact me directly next time to allow me to deal with your reservation personally. Best regards, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    320
    77
    25
    29
See reviews for
109
561
94
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I really not understand the negative comments ....???
I was afraid to book because of the negativ comments
Me and my daughter we was surprised how good the hotel is .
Everything is perfect ! The room , service the staff etc . Even bed and pillow are perfect ! We'll come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
So nice to hear such wonderful feedback about our hotel.. Our beds are made by Hypnos , by royal appointment, so firm but very comfortable bedding which is enhanced by a 500 thread count linen so delighted you had such a good sleep.We look very forward to welcoming you back in the future so please come and see us very soon! Best wishes, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've already spent a night in this hotel last summer. The stay is always a dream. No better place if you travel from/to Saint Pancras or Kings Cross. It's really clean and quiet. The staff is really welcoming and helpful. They helped me with my connexion to internet. The pantry is always delightful.

Room Tip: The single rooms are tiny but there are other rooms. For me the single room is big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cielago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you, so nice to hear your very kind comments, we do always strive to impress! Glad you noticed and look forward to seeing you in the future where I hope we continue to impress you even more. Very best wishes. Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel the night before getting on the Eurostar. The hotel has a great feel about it. I would have given 5 stars for this but I did have a slight issue with our room. We were up on the top floor in the eaves, there was a window but very small and high up, the room although small was adequate for an overnight stay, but the walls had been painted a very dark colour so made the room feel smaller and remained dark, the lighting was inadequate for such a dark room (it felt a little like a cave) Walls should be white to make it feel bigger. The little kitchen at the end of the corridor is a nice touch as is the nespresso machine in the room. The highlight of our stay was having a meal in the plum and spilt milk restaurant it was excellent. The restaurant had a great atmosphere, and good priced food. I will defiantly be returning to this hotel again on my next trip

Room Tip: Try and choose a room not in the eaves on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Lindsey, thank you for recently staying with us and posting a review - I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that our close proximity to Eurostar worked so well for you. Our Wainscot rooms are decorated in a more romantic and opulent style to our other room types, so maybe one of our lighter Cubitt rooms may be more suitable for your next visit - they have large sash windows, high ceilings and are painted in a relaxing shade of olive green. We really appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel and Plum + Spilt Milk and look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern when you are next in London. Many thanks, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our experience at Great Northern Hotel was truly appalling. The room we were given was closer to the size of a cupboard than a hotel room, there wasn't even room to walk around the foot of the bed - you had to climb over it! Considering what we paid, in my opinion this was an absolute rip-off! I have spoken with another couple who also stayed there and they were of the same opinion. I am fairly easy-going, but I feel quite strongly that what this hotel is offering is simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LarysaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Naturally, I’m disappointed to hear your comments regarding your time with us - your room type on this occasion was our Couchette room - these smaller rooms being our interpretation of the railway sleeper carriage. Our Wainscot and Cubitt rooms are larger and, of course, attract a premium rate. These rooms may be a more suitable option should you choose to stay with us in the future. If you do decide to visit us again when you are next in London please contact me directly at the hotel and allow me to make the arrangements for you personally. Kind regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not stayed before but would highly recommend it. From start to finish the staff were fantastic. Good room and excellent service. Breakfast was delicious. Travelling from Leeds the gnh is also in a really good location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello and thank you so much for the super feedback! Hope you come back and stay with us again very soon, best wishes. Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good location and nice hotel. Rooms a little small ,and when I booked online I was given the option of different rooms. However when we booked in, we didn't get the room we asked for.
Also, the room was very very hot ,and it was impossible to open the windows. We asked at reception about the air con and they said they would send someone up to have a look whilst we were out.
On return, the room was hotter that ever, so we spent some time in the corridor as it was a lot cooler.
There is also a weird pantry type room are the end of the corridor that guests can use to make tea and coffee. I would prefer that in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlock50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay with us - naturally, I'm disappointed to hear about the issues regarding your room allocation and air conditioning and ask that you contact me directly at the hotel when you are next thinking of a night away in London and allow me to deal with your reservation personally. On the whole, our pantries receive positive feedback but I am in the process of sourcing a small kettle for the rooms that will hopefully be in place should you chose to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing