We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, stylish hotel is a hugely practical location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #155 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base when spending a weekend on London for a gig. Location is great when travelling by train - easy to get to anywhere in London. Bar and restaurant are fantastic and room was top class, stylish, but a little on the small side. It did us perfectly for our trip and would stay again - the open pantry is a great idea, a nice touch which makes this hotel a little different. No complaints - great service, v good hotel and would def stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Richard,

Many thanks for your feedback. Delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us...our rooms do vary in size but hope you had a good sleep on our Hypnos mattress and d please come back very soon and experience one of our larger rooms. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes, Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel has a great interior design. Everything in neutral color. There is a small mini coffee bar (pantry) in each floor which has sweets chocolate and the cake of the day free of charge available 24 hrs a day. Although the size of the room is mall but it is quit and elegant. Finally, the location is amazing and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Lina,

Delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to say so. Our rooms do vary in size so we would love for you to come visit us soon and experience a different room size. Best wishes and look forward to seeing you very soon. Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've stayed here a few times and have never been able to get near the bar nor the restaurant because those stays have been during the week when the hotel is absolutely mobbed by business people. This time I stayed on Sunday evening and it was a pleasure. I was able to have a drink in the bar followed by a great meal in the restaurant.
As usual the rooms were a delight. Top quality finishing, comfortable bed, rapid air-conditioning, sound proofing that works ....etc....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Ray,

Thank you as always for choosing to stay with us the GNH and delighted to know you had a chilled Sunday evening with us and enjoyed dining. We are rather lucky to have Chef Mark Sargeant overseeing our hotel's food concept and I believe it shows in the quality of our food. Plum and Spilt Milk has a superb atmosphere and so glad you experienced a good nights sleep on our Hypnos Mattress beds!
Shall see you again soon I'm sure,
Best wishes, Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel on Saturday 24th May! Had a wonderful weekend n hotel room was beautiful! However, when checking in we were made to pay a £50 deposit for our room incase we use mini bar, any damages ect.. Said it wouldn't be taken as long as all was ok, that was fine. So we stayed there didn't use mini bar or cause any damage and the receptionist said our deposit would be back in our account by the following Tuesday. It didn't go in we rang up they said it would be 5 working days, 5 working days gone, still not in. Rang up again, they said it would be in the next day, the next day it's still not in. Say yesterday I rang up and complained as I felt like the staff who deal with these deposits are just taking the mick out of mine and my partners good nature and patience. We had a call back immediately by the front of house manager apologising saying our money would be back in our account by the end of day. It's still not gone back in our bank account! I'm so annoyed at this service! We worked hard and saved to stay in this beautiful hotel and the staff here just think we can throw money away. It's a shame and very upsetting

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeccaeve27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Robert and Rebecca,

Was so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and very glad that this situation was actually rectified on our end before the trip advisor went online,best of luck contacting your own bank regarding this now. We look forward to welcoming you back at the discussed very special rate and upgrade for your next stay.

Best wishes, Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from our weekend stay at the GNH. We loved it, the decor was uber cool the rooms not overly large but very stylish and sophisticated. The pantry is a fantastic idea where there are fresh pastries, fruit, tea and coffee in a kitchen on each floor and all complimentary.
The GNH bar does great cocktails and happy hour is busy. It was my birthday so we got champagne on the house. My hubby and I will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianneelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that we made you feel special on your birthday. Look forward to seeing you and your hubby back very soon.
Best wishes, Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This old hotel was fully renovated about 1 year ago and is now a stylish, hip place to stay. Decor is modern and elegant; bed was super comfortable and bathroom, shower good size. Towels and amenities (soap, etc) pretty standard. Nespresso in the room with decent mini bar. But pantry at the end of the hall with free coffee, tea, cakes and snacks is a nice touch.

The hotel literally sits beside the bustling Kings Cross train station and tube station and is in the central of the action of this now refurbished neighborhood. A happening area with direct tube connection to Paddington and Victoria. A 15 min walk dotted with parks to the British Museum and a bit farther to SoHo. I'd stay here again for business and would try the restaurant and bar, which was in full swing on the evening I stayed there.

Room Tip: Room 512 was smallish and dark. But my colleague stayed in Room 226 and said it was large and full o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Jeff, thank you for your insightful feedback. Chuffed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, next time you are back do try out our GNH bar as it does a very good cocktail...required after a day of business! We are lucky to have Chef Mark Sargeant overlooking our food concept so the quality of food in our Plum and Spilt Milk restaurant is suburb.
Look forward to seeing you soon,
Best wishes, Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the GNH for the second time for a birthday weekend. What can we say, WOW! Great hotel in a prime location for travelling around London as well as links to national rail links.

From the moment we booked in to our bag collection late evening, all staff were courteous and helpful. We stayed in one of the hotel's Cubitt room on 4th floor and when booking in was offered a room with bath or shower, a nice touch. Room is spacious and quiet for a London hotel, no noises throughout or stay could be heard.

Love the idea of the pantry at the end of the corridor, stocked with Nespresso coffee, a range of TeaPig tea's, caramel biscuits, retro sweets and cake. All part of the room price.

Had breakfast in the Plum and Spilt Milk restaurant on the morning of departure, although slightly pricey compared to other hotels, was an excellent and tasty start to the day (loved the salt beef hash with fried egg!). Impressed also with the bar staff's knowledge of all the drinks on offer as well as the chance to allow them to create a drink to tastes (if not on the menu)

Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, already working out our next trip down to London

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Front of House Manager at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

'WOW' .....Thank you, we loved reading how wonderful your experience was with us at the GNH. Birthday weekends away are the perfect time to have a special treat. Glad to hear you had a good sleep, we have sound proofed our bedrooms which allows for a very good nights sleep, essential in London. Plum and Spilt Milk does do a mouth watering breakfast, hope you get to come and join us for an evening meal at some stage...we are very lucky to have Chef Mark Sargeant over seeing our hotels food concept so dining with us is most certainly a special experience.
So next time you trip down to London do please let us wow you some more!

Best wishes, Mairead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#137 of 1,075 in London
2,541 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#267 of 1,075 in London
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £193 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing