We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stayed in such a fantastic Central London hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never stayed in such a fantastic Central London hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on a trip to Wimbledon, we have never been shown to a room before the staff are so helpful. A bit expensive but worth it.we could here no city noise at all,so all in all we had a great stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    323
    79
    25
    30
See reviews for
109
568
94
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
te awanga
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Situated close to transport hubs it was a good location and easy enough to get to from heathrow if you dont mind a longish tube trip. Some nice touches in the room and in the pantrys at the end of the corridor. Restaurant food was nice and staff all very pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on the 28th June. Check in was weird. We couldn't work out how to get in the hotel due to the non-existent signage. When we did get in, the staff member on the reception desk was rather unfriendly. We left our bag as we couldn't check in early (no problem there, as we were expecting to do that), and left to enjoy our day in London (and at Dolly Parton!).

When we arrived back at the hotel at half eleven or so that night, we couldn't get in. The door was locked, and despite constant pressing of the intercom button, with whoever was in there mumbling and doing nothing about letting us in, we had to wait outside until another guest came out, so we could enter. There were two members of staff at the desk, and neither of them made any effort to let us in. Disgraceful. Anyway, we were shown to the lift, told to "wave the key card at the fire door to get into the corridor" and that was it. No showing us to our room, no explaining the features of the pantry on each floor, nothing.

The room itself was fine, yes it was small, but it was well designed, and comfortable. The wifi works really well too.

Would we stay here again? No. The lack of service ruined it for us, so in future we'll stay over the road at the Renaissance where we're guaranteed good service and lovely rooms.

Room Tip: Bear in mind the rooms are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drnickUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Executive suite on 28/06 for one night for a our anniversary. Room 302 was just next door to the complimentary pantry so it was perfect!

Room is decorated in modern styles, high ceilings & very spacious whilst the bathroom is just perfect with fitted rainfall shower (love the rum miniature toiletries). Chose this location for access & close to the station & the underground - I was very impressed that the hubby has made the right choice for our anniversary surprise :)

Only slight issues for us are, there was a private party in the bar/restaurant when we first arrived so we couldn't go in. After a long journey we just wanted some food & a couple of drinks.. The reception recommended Camino Tapas bar next to the station so we can watch the World Cup match & a few drinks. Also to add, the pillows was lovely & very fluffy to rest on, but it was too soft for a night sleep for our liking, so we woken up with stiff necks the next day!

Definitely recommended for a treat & deserves 5 stars.. We would definitely come back & stay in this room again, maybe next time we will ask for different pillows!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On our arrival we found the reception to be chaotic and unwelcoming. This is a shame, because the rest of the hotel is great. The rooms may be small, but they are decorated to a high standard and ours was very peaceful. Also, the staff at breakfast room (Plumb + Spilt Milk) deserve a special mention - they gave excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibswif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed only one night at the GNH. I think it has recently been remodeled - very comfortable and nice decor. Though right at King's Cross Station and across the street from St. Pancras International, my room was very quiet - nice privacy shades pull down easily for the large windows and the curtains blacked-out the room nicely for a good night's sleep. Staff were very friendly. The bar and restaurant are both chic, tasteful and comfortable. Internet access was included in the room price and was easy to set-up. I noticed that a selection of movies (I think it was 80) was available also without additional charge, which would be refreshing considering the ridiculous prices for in-room movies at most hotels. My only complaint is a minor one and that is that the doors to get to reception are narrow and a bit uncomfortable to negotiate if handling a suitcase. Overall I thought it was excellent and would definitely stay there again. Note: If coming from Heathrow Airport the Piccadilly Line of the Underground stops at King's Cross - takes about an hour but is only approximately 7GBP.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiarcNosnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in June 2014 with my husband. The reception (once we had found the door into the hotel...) was efficient but rather distant and not very welcoming. We booked a Cubitt room, the largest room type available. it was beautifully decorated and finished but so small that we had to check the website again to confirm we were in the right room type: cream and olive green...so yes we must have been. The room was very light, well soundproofed and had a fascinating view over the top of the new canopy at King's Cross station - not one that many people will get to see. The bathroom was clean, well decorated and finished, with a roomy walk-in rain shower. On the down side, apart from the size of the room, the main problem was the utter absence of anywhere to put your stuff. There was a tiny rail inside a "wardrobe" and another one in the entry to the room, and one small shelf, if you moved the hotel slippers onto the floor. Nowhere to put suitcases, and only a tiny bedside cupboard. There was a small table and miniature couch to sit on, although if you did sit on it you woudn't be able to see the TV. The bathroom had two tiny shelves built into the wall, which was nowhere near sufficient. The room would have been absolutely lovely for one person for one night, but for a couple staying a few nights we found it too cluttered to be properly relaxing.

We didn't have breakfast because the prices were astonishingly high even for London. It was charged by item, and with your plate of bacon, eggs etc alone being £17.00 without coffee, juice or toast, we gave that a miss and walked down to the Pullman Hotel 5 minutes away. We got a very good quality full buffet, all-inclusive English for £20 each - much better value.

The hotel is really very nice, fanstastic location, beautifully decorated and finished, but don't expect space. As in so many things, it's a question of managing your expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing