We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #149 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lancashire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Location Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed a Saturday and Sunday night on a promotional offer, were given a Cubitt room on the fourth floor. Loved the room, fantastic mattress and quality linen, Our bag was taken to our room and we were shown the facilities. Although on a main road the room was very quiet and the temperature was just right. The pantry was next door and we enjoyed the complimentary cake and coffee. There was also a good list of films to watch on demand. The bathroom was massive and had a great shower. The hotel is great for visiting London, very close to St Pancreas and Kings Cross. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    320
    77
    25
    29
See reviews for
109
561
94
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I usually grumble about lack of attention in London hotels. Not so here, great location, superb food and a fine room. Already recommended to local friends and on my return to UK I will be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge U.K.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nice old building, very recently completely refurbished and greatly improved. Good value if booked early especially for a weekend stay. Especially good if you're taking the Eurostar or taking a train from Kings Cross.

Room Tip: The "entry level" rooms are pretty small, but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for a birthday treat, wanting to see the restoration, and because of the very convenient location. We arrived to drop our bags midday and got our room straight away, including an instant upgrade from Couchette to a 'Cubitt' room. It was a decent size, hardly what some describe as small and had a huge rain shower for two. All very comfortable and a great view out of the 3 large sash windows of the emerging high quality Kings Cross regeneration. There wasn't anywhere to put our cases other than on the floor, which seemed a big error. Breakfast in the lovely Plum and spilt Milk was very good and relaxing with good un-intrusive service, but remarkably expensive, even compared to the St Pancras renaissance which has a fair 'all-in' price. Overall we really enjoyed the place, and the quality tea etc in the free pantries. The ground floor is really given over to passing trade rather than a haven for residents, but there are plenty of very good restaurants etc around now in the wider area which is fast getting rid of its former tired budget scruffy feel. The Grain Store over the canal certainly worth a try!

Room Tip: get lucky on an upgrade! We never saw the Couchette we had booked, which is openly a smaller room, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Right - let me start by saying that all of the reviews you will read about the rooms being small are written by people who are clearly incapable of reading the clear notes on the hotel website that yes, shock horror, the rooms are quite small - it's a 5* hotel in London, for less than £200 a night - if you want a massive room, then pay the £500 - £1000 a night and stay in Browns or The Charlotte Street - you have to compromise when you pay a little less!. We used this hotel for a Wimbledon trip - so perfect location as a short walk from Euston, and close to the Victoria line. Paid the ridiculously cheap price of c. £150 for a Saturday night. Arrived early to put our bags in reception to find very polite reception staff more than wiling to assist and ensure our bags were in our room when we arrived some 12 hours later! Upon entering the room we found a beautifully decorated, not so small room with a sumptuous bed and superb bathroom, and amazingly for the location, in almost silence. I could not fault one thing about the room, the wonderful wide corridors and handy pantry area on each floor. I will most certainly be staying here again. My only criticism is the restaurant prices - which is fine as there are so many places around you don't need to use this, but when there are so many places within a very short walk to breakfast it seems a little silly to charge £4 for a coffee or £4.50 for a cup of tea (+ service charge) when I can walk 10 yards to Costa and get a bucket of coffee and a pastry for less. We would have loved to have sampled the eggs benedict, or the salt beef hash, but reckoned that all-in £50 for brekkie is a little steep even for this hotel! Sort the prices out, and you'd have far more covers to serve. Other than that, this is a luxurious little bolt-hole and a must stay place. Highly recommended, but as I say, breakfast in Costa!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed twice in late June after returning from a trip to Paris. Ideal location if returning to St Pancras on Eurostar, just a short walk across the road.

Good looking, recently refurbished hotel. The ground floor of the hotel seems to have been pretty much handed over to the bar leaving just enough room for a small hotel reception, which we did eventually find !

Prompt and efficient check in, and nice touch of a complimentary birthday drink at the bar for first night and upgrade from Couchette room to Wainscott room on second night.

The complimentary drink voucher was appreciated after discovering the bar prices later in the evening, and I probably would've been a bit put out at having to pay for a drink considering the barman's apparent disinterest in having us as customers.

Aside from one dirty glass in the Couchette room, both rooms were clean enough and well appointed. However, and taking into account ours was a short stay, both rooms were small. The Couchette room too small for anything more than an overnight recovery sleep & The Wainscott any more than a couple of nights.

Nowhere to store suitcases in either room, and very little wardrobe space to hang anything. The rooms are designed for little more than an overnight stay with an overnight bag !

That aside, and the fact that we did indeed only stay overnight, one night at a time. We did enjoy our stay and the facilities. The Pantry on each floor is a great idea & we did take advantage of the complimentary tea and cake whilst watching a film in the room.

The shower in the bathroom was good, but would've preferred a bath given the choice.

The breakfast in the restaurant was lovely, although service was a little slow due to the fact that it was largely used as a business meeting venue. For our second night we found it cheaper and more peaceful to have breakfast at the Fortnum & Mason's store in St Pancras !

In a nutshell, nice trendy hotel in a great location perfect if you're not in rush & don't travel with a suitcase !

Room Tip: Slept great in both rooms, Couchette rooms are tiny !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on a trip to Wimbledon, we have never been shown to a room before the staff are so helpful. A bit expensive but worth it.we could here no city noise at all,so all in all we had a great stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing