We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Northern, great stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #154 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Northern, great stopover”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Found the Great Northern a wonderful overnight stay, comfortable and convenient for catching Eurostar . Lovely bar and great for lunch with some people watching thrown in for free. We definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowkie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are perfectly located at Kings Cross and St. Pancras stations. Glad you had time to experience our GNH bar and to have lunch with us. Agreed, it is the perfect spot for people watching while enjoying some mouth watering GNH cocktails. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    327
    80
    26
    31
See reviews for
113
576
96
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The GNH is worth visiting! The hotel has a very boutique feel and the styling is really effective.

On arrival the welcome we got was warm- a lot of thought given to the best room for us and all the information about the room and access was explained. All the staff we encountered were professional and charming.

The room was a mid size room - still on the small size but very well planned. Every detail very well thought through, bathroom a really good size though and a really fantastic shower! Bed linen and towels excellent quality. Lighting in the bathroom good and make up/ shaving mirror present!

The bed is a normal size double but very comfortable. The room was so peaceful despite being just above the station. Excellent sound proofing and air con which was very quiet as we left it on all night.

The pantry is a lovely touch - a little kitchen stocked with coffee/ tea and sweet things- easy to grab a coffee in the morning before the Eurostar.

The is really good security, with swipe card systems in communal spaces

The bar was great - we were just in time to have a little tapas before the kitchen shut at 11pm we had lovely cocktails too.

The GNH is a bit of a gem- would love to stay again, worth it if you have time to linger. The personal touch is lovely, makes it much more appealing than the Renaissance across the road.

Room Tip: We had room 403, near the pantry! Had a view over the top of the station which was cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nospringchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our wonderfully sound proofed rooms, our complementary pantries and the GNH bar cocktails. Delighted you got to enjoy our gem of a hotel and our personal touches, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel very soon.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Adjoining Kings Cross Station this newly refurbished hotel is a bit different and in a good way. Some of the usual frustrations are still there ie check in and check out takes longer than is surely necessary (same for most hotels). However free wifi, free films in room, pantry rooms on eacvh floor where you can make tea and coffee and alkso grab a free slice of cake or a biscuit. Nice touch. The rooms are modern and the air really works. I was there on one of the hotest days of the year and the temp was fine. The air con virtually noiseless. Loads of stuff to do nearby or in slightly more distant Bloomsbury. West End etc a short taxi ride. Hotel has a very nice bar and the restaurant looked good although I didnt try it. I have stayed at the grander St Pancras Hotel nextdoor and I would now choose the GNH over it especially when it comes to value.

Room Tip: The area is busy with two mainline stations near so a higher floor room probably a good idea. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our free wifi, the complementary pantries and indeed our elegantly designed rooms. We note that you found the check in process a little time consuming and we’ll certainly review this process to ensure our guests experience a swift check in each time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband surprised me with this hotel stay, before we travelled to Paris & Barcelona by train the following day. It is the most beautiful building, & has been decorated sympathetically & in beautiful taste. Every member of the hotel staff we encountered were helpful, lovely & very un-intimidating! Our room on the top floor was amazing, comfortable bed & lovely bathroom. The pantry at the end of the corridor was a fab addition, with tea & coffee making facilities, sweets, newspapers & cake! I would recommend this hotel, & cannot wait to stay here again, the best hotel I've had the pleasure to stay in

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank henryd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, the free pantries and of course our very welcoming staff. It is wonderful to hear that our guests share our love for how tastefully the GNH has been renovated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel very soon, maybe for your next European trip.

Best wishes,

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel stayed here for 1 night before getting Eurostar to paris we arrived at 730am and hotel kept our bags and even put them in the room for us. Small but great room even had electric blinds and curtains. Great idea having a pantry on each floor the next day our Eurostar was not till 2pm so hotel offered to hold our luggage until this time so we could see more of London. A 30 sec walk to Eurostar terminal fantastic will stay again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lennyleonard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Lenny

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay at the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, a 30 second walk to Eurostar terminal is a pretty perfect location. Delighted also you got to experience our wonderful complementary pantries and of course our luggage hold service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel again soon.

Best wishes,

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a gem of a hotel. Really thoughtful touches throughout- the larder with complimentary Nespresso and cakes/biscuits is an inspirational alternative to room service. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully appointed and the beds, TV and sound etc are all fantastic quality. The staff are all so friendly and attentive. Bars and restaurant are excellent and the food is phenomenally good. The location is brilliant with access to St Pancras, Kings X and the Ungerground literally on the doorstep. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our free pantries and wonderfully designed rooms, hope you had a good nights sleep on your Hypos mattress. Our location at King’s Cross St Pancras is pretty perfect we have to admit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel last weekend, Saturday and Sunday nights.

Arriving into King's Cross station, this hotel could not be more conveniently located. Fantastic to get anywhere in London with the transport links on the doorstep, for those who don't know there is an Underground station steps away from the hotel and St Pancras station 2 minutes walk away.

We checked in early and although our room wasn't ready, we were able to leave our luggage at reception. When we returned later, our luggage had been placed in our room for us. The reception staff were welcoming and professional and showed us the facilities in the room and in the pantry. We had a couchette room which, although extremely compact, was comfortable and had everything one would require for a short stay.

Coffee and a couple of bottles of water from the mini bar are free of charge, other drinks and a small selection of snacks are very reasonably priced. Bathrooms again are compact, but are immaculately clean and have a good selection of lovely toiletries.

As other reviewers have mentioned, at the end of each floor there is a butler's pantry with a great selection of coffee, teas, chocolate biscuits, sweets and cake. It's a fabulous idea and provided us with early morning coffee and tea in the afternoon.

The bar area is lovely and had a DJ on Saturday night, very good selection of music. Great service in the bar and an excellent selection of gins. We didn't try the restaurant on this visit although I peeped in and it is incredibly beautiful! We had a sandwich from the kiosk outside which was fab.

I hadn't thought of staying in this area before but the regeneration of the area is almost complete, there is a good choice of restaurants close by and the transport links are excellent. Overall, the hotel is delightful, interesting, clean and with great service throughout. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#128 of 1,068 in London
2,408 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#259 of 1,068 in London
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing