We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent buzzy pre-theatre place”

The Cut Bar Restaurant Cafe
Ranked #4,328 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Cut Bar is one of London's most popular theatre bars and restaurants. Set within the Young Vic's award winning building and minutes from Tate Modern, Old Vic Theatre, The Southbank and Southwark and Waterloo Stations. Over two floors the stylish, buzzy bar and open-air terrace host an eclectic crowd of theatregoers, artists, suits and locals. An inspired mix of classic and original play-themed dishes create an exciting menu from fresh, free-range and organic ingredients. The Cut is about great quality, and great service.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Decent buzzy pre-theatre place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you are going to the Young Vic this is the place to eat. It's packed (make sure you book if the play is at all popular), noisy and buzzy. The food,although fairly basic, has some nice touches (soft-shell crab burger, for example). Service is excellent and prices are reasonable. Eating burgers and sides and with a glass of house red we paid just over £16 a head.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    50
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, shame about the food and seating shortage...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I've seen some excellent performances here, most recently The Socottsboro Boys and was looking forward to getting into the mood of the story with a pre-dinner 'southern' meal specially created for the play (pulled pork, red beans, rice). I'm not usually a pre-play diner but on that evening, I was starving as I hadn't eaten a thing all day, so was really looking forward to enjoying a sumptious southern meal with my husband. I've lived in the Deep South at a previous time in my life and so really have an appreciation for the wonderfully delicious food from that region. But I was badly let down. The food - all of it - was so tasteless that I couldn't eat it. The pulled pork was so uniform that it appeared to have come from a tin, the rice appeared to have been strained ten times and worse, had no seasoning whatsoever. The beans were as far removed from refried beans as it is possible to be. All in all, a horrid, disappointing meal. And it was made worse by the fact that there was no seating available anywhere so we had to eat our meal standing at the very crowded bar on a busy Friday evening. NOT GOOD! NOT GOOD! Service was variable - the male bar-tenders were friendly but the young woman was decidedly unfriendly. I know that bar staff aren't there to make friends but to do a job, but whatever happened to service with a smile? But at least the wine was excellent and our food was served quickly. And the play was great. But please, if you're going to serve food, then ENSURE THAT YOU HAVE SUFFICIENT SEATING...!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlovingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Really fun Friday night venue with a pleasantly concise menu. I had fishcakes, which were delicious, and great sides. Very reasonably priced and pleasant staff. I'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid the bar snacks trio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great ambience and good service. Those who had burgers were pleased. My colleague and I ordered the bar snacks trio - mini sliders, chicken wraps and chips. The chips were good but the burgers were actually meatballs and could have been fired from a gun! The chicken mayo wraps were cute finger food but the 'chicken' was all crumb and again very hard. Would go again to try something different as the buzzy atmosphere was good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLakeslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great little brasserie in Young Vic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Surprisingly good for a "restaurant" inside a theatre. The seating is not great as there is not really enough and you might end up in the upstairs bar. Food is imaginative (soft shell crab burger - recommended) and quite reasonably priced and the service is very cheerful and attentive without being too overbearing. Get there early for an excellent pre-theatre meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodHonestAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cut Bar Restaurant Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Cut Bar Restaurant Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing