We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem, what a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apples & Pears

Apples & Pears
Ranked #130 of 1,277 Nightlife in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a neighbourhood cocktail bar serving up well-crafted drinks, whilst introducing colourful flavours and ingredients. Our music programme is eclectic and lively, spinning everything from motown, soul, funk, old school hip hop and beats at the weekends and during the week, live acoustic sessions.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, what a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I found this place on View London and after reading the reviews thought I would give it a go. It's not a very big venue, but it has two floors, with different music playing, we stayed upstairs the music was good, we were served fairly quickly even though it was busy and the atmosphere was great. We were a varied age group, from early 20's to late 40's.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grovesk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplesPearsBar, Owner at Apples & Pears, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Went with my friend last night for the first time and had a blast. Met some new people and everyone was friendly, especially the staff. The cocktails are really nice and quirky (plus we got there for happy hour so saved some money.) Music was good, nothing crazy but fits the mood. Next time we come we are going to try their shisha because it wasn't available for Fri, Sat & Sun due to how busy it gets. Bummer, but we'll definitely be back as we enjoyed it so much!! Thank you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank reviewafew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplesPearsBar, Owner at Apples & Pears, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We're pleased to see you had a good time :) We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Invited to a party in the basement of Apples & Pears and decided to see what was upstairs only to find the staff and guests all dancing to amazing DJ sounds, fantastic cocktail service and brilliant atmosphere. This place and its staff are a real find, I absolutely loved it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank orlaith_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplesPearsBar, Owner at Apples & Pears, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We're glad you had a good time! Thank you for your review. Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Friends 30th”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We came here for a mates 30th and he had booked out the downstairs area, it was quite warm down there and the music wasnt very loud! Definitely sounded like upstairs was the place to be! Drinks were reasonably priced and staff were friendly. May return and stay in the upstairs bar!

Helpful?
Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplesPearsBar, Owner at Apples & Pears, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little bar at Aldgate end of Brick Lane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have been here several times and its a great little places. Has a few couch areas and a few table areas as well as a wee courtyard at the back. Plays good music, the staff are friendly and they do bar snacks. Also do a fantastic happy hour - 4 to 8pm. One of the longest you'll find! Defo worth a visit when next in the East End.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplesPearsBar, Owner at Apples & Pears, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apples & Pears also viewed

 

Been to Apples & Pears? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing