We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for the one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Londonears Hostel
Ranked #607 of 855 Speciality Lodging in London
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“ok for the one night”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

3 of us stayed here for 1 night. cheap, poor decor, and when we tried to check in the reception weren't going to let us at first because we didn't have photo ID. 'we need passport' ..... ive travelled from Wigan didn't think I'd need one! ...after a heated discussion we finally were allowed in. beds were uncomfortable but clean sheets. couple of good pubs at the end of the road though so not all bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    96
    83
    214
See reviews for
43
60
104
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on a visit to London.
The staff on reception were incredibly neutral. No smiles, no bad manners.. So no complaints.
We had a private double room (with a shared bathroom). Not too shabby we thought on first glance. The room was clean and a good size. But then we sat on the bed.. It was broken.. Some of the metal slats holding the mattress were missing meaning the mattress sagged through the holes. Every time we moved we were worried more would break.
No breakfast unless you pay but theres subway and other places round the corner.
A cheap room in a fabulous location. Just a shame about the bed!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faerycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The reason of the nice location is an insufficiant motivation to book this hostel. We slept here for 4 nights while we were visiting London with a group of 40 students. After having seen their rooms, our 2 tutors and the bus driver instantly decided to look for a proper bedroom elsewhere. Meanwhile we were still climbing the stairs, because we had to bring our luggage (for 4 nights, remember?) 5 stores up without an elevator.

We entered our room for 6 and saw a very small room who bearly allowed 6 persons standing up. The room contained 3 bunk beds -of which 1 stood in front of the window- and a small sink in the corner. There was an awefull smell and there was chewing gum sticking in the fitted carpet.

Furthermore, the sanitary accomodation was beyond imagination. The bathroom on our level was simply not available which meant people from the lower floor had to share their bathroom with the double amount of people. The bathroom entering from the corridor showed 3 showers. It was impossible to lock te bathroom so you could only close the shower itself properly. All kinds of dirt lay in each one of the showers. Going from used, old soap to hair to pubics. It was obvious that they weren't cleaned for a LONG time. The originally white ceiling had gone black, so did all corners. There was no place to put clothes or towels and no ventilation.
I know this trip wasn't going to be luxurious and we all expected very basic accomodation, but this was just disgusting, filthy and groce due to a lack of respect for its visitors.

Staff at the reception desk was rude and useless.

I didn't even think of having breakfast served by the so called 'cleaning staff'.

I wouldn't recommend this hostel and neither does this website. So I suggest TRIPADVISOR removes their sticker from the frontdoor !!!

Room Tip: Accept rather a minor situated hostel (public transport can bring you in the city center) and invest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I am not sure about other rooms. But we stayed in a 14-bed room. Absolutely horrible experience. Nothing was like in the pictures or description. Impolite and bad service minded staff. Unbearable bathroom. Dirty toilets. 24 people share 1 bathroom and 2 toilets! Most importantly, the worst room we have ever stayed - dirty, smelly, and noisy. In sufficient electric plugs. We have traveled a lot, and we are easy-going people. But this is beyond our tolerance. I could see the faces of the other travelers - also shocked and stressed out with the accommodation conditions. The only good thing was the location. We could not sleep at all during those 4 nights. Couldn't move to other places cuz they were fully booked.
Honestly, I am wondering why this hostel has got the tripadvisor sticker. Doesn't deserve it.

Room Tip: It is a good option if you don't mind staying in a bad condition but good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jak_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for two nights, and although there were enough of us to fill our own rooms, our large group was split over 6 floors, rather than all being near. The shower and toilet both stank, and only one of the two showers on our floor was usable due to a broken door. The beds were surprisingly comfortable though and I slept well. As already been pointed out it is very cheap for the location, which is another benefit, if you can put up with the conditions.
We also felt staff were a little rude, rushing us out before the check out time we had been told.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed there alone just for one night. It was very loud. People were screaming on the street and inside the hostel. No one had control over what was going on there. Also, by their mistake they have allocated me to a male dorm. Beds are comfortable, but not very stable, so if the person sleeping in the bed under your bed moves, be sure your bed shakes. Toilets and showers were poor condition and breakfast is just a joke. Few slices of toast and some bad jam. I ate in the coffee shop nearby. Service at the reception wasn't nice either. Good side is location. Very close to tube station and number of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very cheap for Chelsea but this place has NOTHING else going for it at ALL.

I was lumbered in a minuscule room in which you could hardly swing a gerbil; EVERYONE in it stank; the degradingly ugly fat jabber underneath me snored liked a velociraptor from dawn till dusk; the toilets were coated in mud and honked of stale urine (human and dog); the shower was a pathetic self-pitying trickle; the clientele were just lower species of life.

JUST SAY NO

Room Tip: One in which you are not made to breathe the same fart infused air of other guests. Do ANYTHING to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#704 of 1,068 in London
136 reviews
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#932 of 1,068 in London
326 reviews
South Kensington
The Maranton House Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel
#936 of 1,068 in London
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RestUp London
#448 of 855 in London
521 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 855 in London
2,517 reviews
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#111 of 554 in London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Londonears Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Londonears Hostel

Property: The Londonears Hostel
Address: No. 1 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #607 of 855 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed to explore central London, The Londonears Hostel offers affordable accommodation just 5 minutes’ walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre and Tube Station.With a range of international guests, this impressive Victorian building has a relaxed, cosmopolitan atmosphere. Offering private rooms and dormitories, The Londonears Hostel provides shared bathroom facilities.In Barkston Gardens, this central London youth hostel has a 24-hour check in and reception. Many restaurants, bars and coffee shops are just a 5-minute walk away.The Londonears Hostel is just a mile from the shopping districts of Knightsbridge and Kensington High Street. Buckingham Palace is a 10-minute Tube journey from Earl’s Court Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Londonears Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing