We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food”
Review of Al Balad

Al Balad
Ranked #3,273 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This is was a third visit to albalad restaurant . We were craving Lebanese food and went to edge are road. We start by gold mezze homus and fattoush were absolutly delicious .and then hot mezze falafel and chicken liver were really wonderful , after all the main courses reached shawarma mix grills and grilled fish served fresh and hot the dishes were wow nice and tasty , I recomanded this restaurant as the best in edge are road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    56
    20
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Can be unfriendly and unwelcoming, not for us.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We've visited a couple of times, and get the distinct impression that this shisha cafe thinks it's a restaurant, depending on which member of staff you actually first talk too, and it is nowhere near as welcoming as it should be. We've tried here a couple of times, and that was at least once too many and much prefer other cafe's and restaurants in the area. Not for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Lebanese Cuisine”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We wanted to try a new place for Shwarma meals after having visited a few on Edgeware Road in the past. I saw this place and it was busy which was a good sign. There was seating outside as well. We headed in and within 20 mins were seated due to the rush.

Anyway the menu has a wide range of Lebanese Cuisine twisted slightly for the UK market. We tried a variety of starters and mains, all were good sized portions for the price. I can only say we went from one dish to another and each one as surprisingly tasty as the last one. We were hungry but loved it right till the end. Meats were tender and succulent. Shwarmas were served with many sauces, salad and chillies. Vegetables were done perfectly. They certainly like to pickle things in vinegar ! Middle eastern food is not that spicy so you can taste what your eating ! They offered a variety if drinks but I would recommend trying their juices - Mmmmmmm !

Waiters were busy and were doing their best. I saw them trying to attend to a full restaurant and they did it well. Delays were inevitable.

Beware of one thing - going to toilets downstairs via spiral staircase. At the top part - watch your footing, easily trip if your not careful !

All-in-all a great taste of Lebanese food ! Anyway, we will be back ad would recommend this place to try some middle eastern food stuff.

Taxi !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NayaabNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service, overpriced, tiny portions”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I went to Al Balad over a year ago and that was relatively positive experience. Brought there my friend and the place was shockingly bad. First of all, the waiter seated us between two other tables, even though there were empty tables without close neighbours around. We ordered falafel wraps, a Lebanese coffee and soft canned drink.
Waited quite a long for drinks, which eventually were delivered with super tiny wraps. Have had many falafel wraps in different parts of London, sometimes they were cheaper, but it was a first time when they in size of nearly average size carrots. At first I thought that maybe it's a portion for one and they will bring second wrap, but that didn't happen. The falafel itself was all right, but that was first time it has been served without hummus. Definitely not gonna go back there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the_squid_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Before going to Hyde Park's Winter Wonderland, we looked for a nearby restaurant that was a bit different and we found it in Al Balad. The cuisine is Lebanese and delicious. We walked in without a reservation and were seated immediately and served by very helpful and friendly staff. The fresh fruit drinks were gorgeous! We ordered a variety of dishes, probably too many! We didn't quite finish them all but everything we had, especially the lovely salad and vegetable dishes were so fresh and tasty. The price was good, also - always a plus! Would definitely return and recommend highly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Altea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Balad also viewed

 

Been to Al Balad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing