We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment but poor management”

Apple Apartments - Stratford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Apartments - Stratford
Ranked #379 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment but poor management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My booking code is 457055850.

Although I paid for Saturday night in order to be able to check in early Sunday, the rather rude Reception Clerk delayed check-in for 3 hours even though the identification process was completed. This should have alerted me to the very poor back office management.

I raised a complaint that the Wi-Fi in Apartment 8 was not working. The excuse for not resolving the issue was that it will be difficult to get BT to resolve it that Sunday afternoon. But that it will be done by Monday.

On Sunday night, I discovered that the back door of the ground floor apartment was left ajar and insisted that I be moved. I was given the access code to Apartment 1 and it was then that I discovered that one had to raise the lever of the lock to operate it. Based on that I went back to Apartment 8 and locked the back door myself.

The Wi-Fi still did not work on Monday and Tuesday despite my many telephone calls. Finally on Wednesday morning I saw a man who paraded himself as the manager. He lied that I was told to move to Apartment 1 so that I can have Wi-Fi access but I refused. On that note, I decided that it was not worth my while trying to hold further discussions.

I checked out on Thursday morning knowing I will never go back to Apple Apartment Stratford. It is a shame because the design of the apartment was well thought through and things are in their right places. Poor management will kill that good business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akinamosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
19
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very clean and a good size. Fine for a nights stay to be close to central London. However there was no heating?! As you can imagine in a ground floor apartment in winter it was absolutely freezing! There was just a tiny electric heater that you could only feel if you were a foot away from.The duvet was very thin and poor quality so didn't give much warmth! For that reason alone it did not make a comfertable stay and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Myself and two friends stayed at these apartments last month for one night. It worked out at £37 each. The apartments are within a 10 min walk to Westfield and the tube station. It's an ideal base for a girlie weekend shopping. We stayed on the ground floor apartment which had a very decent size patio with a little table and ideal for smokers. The apartment had a fairly large bathroom which had a bath and shower over the top. Interior was modern looking, bedroom had a large double bed which could easily fit three people in if necessary. Living room had a tv, wifi, sofa which was a sofa bed which could again fit two possibly three at a push. Full kitchen, washing machine, oven, fridge, freezer, microwave etc. literally everything you need for a girls weekend. There was also an ironing board and iron. I would stay here again because of the location simply but it was a nice surprise inside the apartments too. Request the ground floor apartment guys! If you aren't a snob you won't be disappointed :)

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment has a little patio but bedroom is at front so can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegB20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely apartments only 10 minutes walk from transport hub and huge shopping malls. 25 minutes into centre of London by tube. Would recommend. Manageress very helpful and attended to any request immediately.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 newly decorated and equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowMac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This apartment is located 10 minutes walk from the Stratford train station, a good size shopping centre and also a Westfield shopping town. The apartment had a large bedroom, a large bathroom with a good shower, a well equipped kitchen and lounge and dining room it also had a washing machine, the apartment was also serviced every other day which was a nice touch.It was perfect for exploring London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaspas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in one of the Apple Apartments for one night due to the fact that I had to be at the Olympic Park very early the net morning. Everything was extremely clean and in good condition. I had a good night's sleep, although we could hear some distant singing from the pub down the road. It's very convenient for the Olympic Park, Stratford tube station and Westfield. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank trigirlsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Family of 4 (with 2x 5yr olds) stayed for 2 nights on 27th & 28th July, we stayed in Apartment No 3 for the anniversary games at the Olympic Stadium and a long Birthday weekend.

Things the apartment didn't have but were listed on the advert:

Patio (we ere on the 1st floor),
City View (we had a view of run down housing),
DVD Player (maybe hidden in the TV but wasn't obvious)
Cable Channels (only had freeview),
Safety Deposit Box (never found that)
Seating Area (well it had a grotty sofa bed
Fan (could have done with that in the heatwave)

The apartment was situated in a degraded part of Stratford, there were constant flies in the lounge, the seating was poor quality and in adequate for a family of 4, there were poor quality finishes to the decor and there were lots of water stains on ceilings, there were also plenty of damaged areas to the walls where they have taken a battering.

Would I stay here again, no.

Room Tip: Apartment 3 was used, maybe others are different?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#470 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Epsilon Hotel
#591 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Apartments - Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Apartments - Stratford

Property: Apple Apartments - Stratford
Address: Stratford 43A Waddington Street, London E15 1QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apple Apartments - Stratford 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A plasma-screen TV with Sky satellite channels is featured in each Apple apartment, and the modern kitchens have an oven, microwave and fridge/freezer. Utensils and a washing machine/dryer are also provided. Apple Apartments Stratford is situated a 5 minute walk from Stratford rail and tube (subway) station, and Westfield Stratford City, the largest shopping mall in London. Free Wi-Fi is provided in each apartment. Central London can be reached in 20 minutes via tube (subway) from Stratford tube (subway) station, where guests can visit the West End, Piccadilly Circus and Covent Garden. The Houses of Parliament, London Eye and Knightsbridge (Harrods) can also be explored in the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Apple Apartments - Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing