We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub / Sports Bar Hybrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vault Bar

The Vault Bar
Ranked #9,023 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Pub / Sports Bar Hybrid”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a sort of "pub bar" (I found that in the U.K. the word "pub" sometimes gets used rather loosely) located in the shadows of Tower Bridge.
The concise menu is mostly dedicated to what a Yank would term as sports bar food.
Food and service were good, though not outstanding. Interestingly, the Caesar salad arrived topped by a sunny-side-up egg.
Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    27
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, inconsistent quality”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Only a fool would argue with the other reviewers who commented on the great view. You're under Tower Bridge, for heaven's sake! It was spectacular and I believe this restaurant snags a lot of tourists visiting Tower Bridge as it is directly across from it's gift shop.

We went in on a cold, blustery rainy day and sat down with our two kids. It is quite a small place and we were immediately reseated out of the window and into the back. Typically, we would just assume our family, on a whole, wasn't attractive enough to sit in the front window but were very happy with the views from the back. It was a good move.

We ordered fish and chips, fajitas and a Philly steak and cheese sand. Boy, do they know how to do fish and child. My husband reported that his fish meal was delicious. The fajitas that the kids split were ok. The guacamole did not look or taste homemade and the sauce was more Italian than Mexican. The Philly steak and cheese was a disaster. Obviously, no one here has ever had a philly. The meat was chunky and very tough. On a good note, there was only meat on half of the sandwich, no joke, so the rest of it was like a veggie grilled cheese.

There is no need to complain about the service because although it was not good, they were slammed and probably did the best they could with only two people covering the entire restaurant and the bar.
If you find that you have to go to this place after a tour, go for the local favorites and tell yourself you are there for the view other than the food. If you are looking for a great meal in London with good service try another place. Sorry Vault, we really tried to like you. Better luck next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laneynjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely bar, shame about the terrible service”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We dropped in here because it is a great location, cute bar and a cool view out underneath tower bridge. Unfortunately it coincided with the two girls at the bar having a total service meltdown. They weren't writing down anyone's orders, they started moving people about to clear a big table space which seemed to be for no purpose, they never made a cocktail we asked for, no receipt, and then tried to argue about what the price had been when we asked for the money back. They were arguing with each other (we couldn't work out what about because it wasn't in english) in full view of the rest of the customers. After half an hour of waiting for the missing drink, we downed the one we had got and made a swift exit. God knows how long the other customers had to wait, or whether they ever got served. I think the owner probably needs to have a better look at the quality of staff, as these girls were clearly incompetent and ruined what would have otherwise been a really lovely bar.

Helpful?
Thank Realalegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I enjoyed my food, it was excellent value for money.
I also sat near the window which gave stunning views of the thames and tower of London.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service - atmosphere and what a location!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stumbled across this amazing place tonight when we walked a cross tower bridge. Food, drinks and the atmosphere was fantastic. Waitress was wonderful. Absolutely finished our day off in the best way. Recommend the buffalo wings and the fish and chips.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vault Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Vault Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing