We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2 week stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fig Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fig Tree House
Ranked #138 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 week stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Really enjoyed my 2 week stay from late August to first 11 days of September. Rooms and accomidations were like staying with friends or family. Could come and go as I please and self-catering breafast was as early as I needed. Rail station within 10 minute walk made transportation very easy. I cannot say enough good things about my hosts, very very helpful and pleasant. I'm planning a return vist next year and looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryWhittaker, General Manager at Fig Tree House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay so much. But which station did you walk to as our local train station is only 3 minutes walk away? Look forward to seing you next year then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A pleasant week was spent during the hot week of July 2013. Ruth & John are the brilliant hosts. A warm welcolme to the peace and tranquility of Hither Green. A comfortable room awaits, the comfort of the beds with quiet that ensues means when your head hits the pillow, peacefull sleep will envelope you into slumberland to behold. If breakfast is your wish, then the use of the kitchen is yours for Continental Style, cereals with milk, toast and the cooking of the home laid eggs. Oh yes, the eggs! Use the garden as you wish, take in the pleasant surroundings that await. The Chicken Run, the pond with fish and frogs. Popoff the cat and his neighbourly friends. Or sit and watch as an evening fox pays a visit as it passes through. We spent many an hour sitting in the garden taking in the solitude with a glass of wine we'd bought locally, listening to the gargling of the pond's fountain. The train station is but minutes away to venture to, Greenwich and London City areas. A Pub is near at hand with conveinance shops, cafes and restauarants. Quite simply, this B&B cannot be match for price, location, hospitality, comfort, free access and peace of mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed overnight on 2 consecutive weeks in order to be close by to family in Hither Green.There was off-street parking available, and once I had checked in and collected the keys I was completely free to come and go. Particularly good for me was the self-catering breakfast, because my family commitments necessitated a very early start [babies!] and I was able to use the kitchen much earlier than an average B&B would start serving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurney_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Fig tree house is a lovely place to stay and feel at home. Having perfect connections to central London and the best hosts ever!
Ruth, John and Gerry doing their best to help you with anything you might need. And you will always have fresh eggs from the henns in the garden! :)
Can't recommend enough for a relaxed stay in the capital!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fgura malta
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

it was a very enjoyable experience! ... i felt like living in my home ....this is my experience:
way back around April 2008 i travelled for a seminar and Fig Tree House was located in an ideal place. on the day of travelling, at Malta airport, i learnt that there was a delay in the flight, so I called at Fig Tree House to inform them. therefore i ended up arriving quite late at my destination, (i.e. around half midnight) where I found Ms. Ruth waiting for me at the train station. she was very welcoming and kind enough to help me with my luggage and upon arriving at Fig Tree House she offered me a cup of tea which I badly needed at that time ... and we had a small chat in the clean and cosy living room. later she helped me settle in my room which was very clean, well decorated and comfortable. my stay there was really pleasant. items avaialable for breakfast were very generous, bathrooms very clean and had free internet and phoning facilitie. i really recommend Fig Tree House. Well done Gerry, Ruth and John!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinbek, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I very gladly always visit this house. Ruth& John and Gerry are really hospitable, helpful and funny! You can ever go with all questions to them, they answer them all or try to help.The house is cosy, clean and the atmosphere is very nice, so that I at all times feel like at home. Day and night it´s quiet in the environment. You are at all times welcome when you come " home" to FIGTREE HOUSE.And you are instantly integrated. This B& B is highly recommended!!!!
Birgit

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Been there for a few times and its always a pleasure. They do not offer just a room or two, they treat you like a family member. The house is comfy, clean and close to the station. And if you need an advise or somerhing else Ruth, John and Gerry do their best to help you.
Will come back soon. Rita

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Lewisham Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
0.1 mi away
Lyall Apartment Hotel
Lyall Apartment Hotel
#132 of 837 in London
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#88 of 573 in London
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments
13.1 mi away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree House

Property: Fig Tree House
Address: 32 Duncrievie Road | Hither Green, London SE13 6TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B offers one twin bedded room with TV/dvd player & fridge. From 50 GBP/night. One single bedded room with TV/dvd player. From 3o GBP/night. Both bedrooms share bathroom shower facilities etc. Towels, bathrobes, hair dryers & continental electric adapter plugs supplied. The B&B is also non-smoking but smokers can use the garden if required. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing