We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Ranked #98 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location and service”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Glad to have found this place. Stayed a week ago on Saturday. Out of everything that this hotel has to offer what stands out the most is the service. Everyone from bar and restaurant staff to the reception desk were tremendous.

The games room down stairs is also a plus, I was there when no other hotel guests were in the room so felt even more special.

The products in the room are great quality. This hotel definitely gets a recommendation from me.

Word of advice:
If you are particular on a little bit of noise, then ask for a room facing away from the main Cromwell road.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    382
    70
    17
    12
See reviews for
205
600
60
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Upon arriving, we were exhausted after a day of sightseeing, in desperate need of a shower and a good night's sleep! The hotel was beautiful. The entrance and lobby were welcoming, and our 'basic' room, although compact, was luxurious. There were even l'occitane toiletries. This is the nicest hotel I have stayed in whilst on a trip to London, and I would definitely return. The price was fair, and I have actually paid more in the past for hotels of lesser quality. Great service, great experience, great location, will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviles, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The staff was so great (10 out of 10). Very pleasent and helpful. Our experience was great. Breakfast was very good (10 out of 10)

The room was small but it has every little detail. Bluetooth speakers and wifi works fine. Bathroom also was OK. The only one concern was the noise from the street. (8 out of 10).

It is close to the tube station and 30 meters away to a bike hire station. From the hotel there is an easy way to city centre by bike through Hyde Park, Green Park, The Mall...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that it is not in Cromwell Road side (because the noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pmpeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I'll start of by saying that the hotel is absolutely beautiful! The design inside is modern, tasteful and completed to a very high standard. They've paid extra attention to the quality of the finish in the bathrooms, which is so often critiqued by travellers (in my opinion). The restaurant they have there is also beautiful, despite it being on the small side. But, again.. Beautiful decor.

As a lot of the reviews highlight, the hotel is small, as are the rooms. However, they are by no means marketing the hotel as a super chain, all inclusive resort so I don't really see the shock here if you are staying in a 'boutique' hotel. It's ideal for a few nights away.

My husband and I stayed here for the night in December for my birthday.
When we checked in, I was wished a happy birthday by the attentive receptionist who had checked our booking notes. Her name was Claudia and she was excellent. Throughout our stay we were greeted with a warm smile every time we walked passed reception, she couldn't have done enough for us.

We were also sent a beautiful tray of fruit 'with birthday wishes from the Xenia team' ... Perfect!

Location isn't particularly central, so if you like a bit of people watching.. You won't be seeing much! It's a five-ten minute walk from the tube station.. Which isn't bad at all but the hotel itself isn't 'central' kensington.

The only downer I would put on this hotel is the amount of hidden charges. When we arrived we were asked for a £60 guarantee on the room. When ordering any room service there is a £5 tray charge. When you have the breakfast there is a service charge... Plenty of hidden charges that the staff aren't particularly forthcoming with until you go to pay. This was my only downer for the hotel. It just seems like a lot of extras for an already pretty pricey hotel. Make sure you stay with plenty of money in the bank!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We chose this hotel with my wife for a short pre-Xmas city break in London. I would grade my overal experience as excellent. Ok, there are no such facilities as swimming pool or sauna, but this was not the point when choosing for a short weekend trip. The position is convenient, in Chelsea, subway is very close by, but you can also walk (if you feel like it) to the centre of London (we did so). The hotel itself seems recently renovated, personnel is very polite (I don't get some negative comments I read elsewhere) and the rooms are reasonably sized and very well accommodated to serve the needs of the traveller. Wifi is free and usable (I have stayed in hotels where the "free" wifi is so slow that you can't actually do anything with it, not ever read your emails) and the two bars and the restaurant are small but nicely decorated and provide a good service.
Negative points? Not really, maybe a bit expensive, but at the level of most hotels in the area. I would definitely check availability out next time I visit London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Hotel Xenia is a fab hotel. I stayed recently for only 1 night on a business trip.

Very modern and well decorated hotel with ample spacce throughout the hotel/lobby and breakfast area.

The staff were incredibly friendly and very attentive. Particularly on reception and the bar.

The room was furnished well, although on the small side but given the central london location this is to be somewhat expected. I had one of the best nights' sleep I have had with a good quality bed, and luxury bedding, although they are rather narrow!

Facilities in the room are also of a high standard with l'Occitane bathroom supplies (always welcome!) And the bathroom, and the room throughout was absolutely spotless!

Xenia is well placed, within minutes walk to many good quality restaurants and a stones throw from earls court station.

I had the pleasure of utilising the bar during my stay and the outside is magnificent. Decend the stairs and there is a lovely terrace with comfortable seating and heaters!! The staff in the bar are knowledgeable about the wine(s) and various drinks on offer which makes a nice change. In addition after a late night return with my colleagues from our evening out the staff allowed us to order drinks despite the bar baing closed and were very accommodating to our requests.

In the morning the provided an above average continental breakfast with a wide selection of cereals, fresh baked bread, cheeses, cold cuts, several pastries, tarts, fresh fruit, yogurt, and an option of the cooked selection from the a la carte menu… all of which was tasty and FRESH! and there was fresh fruit and sweets on reception free of charge - a nice touch!

Given the opportunity to stay again I would, and would recommend to others. The overall experience was fantastic. a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms do not come with a stocked mini bar so if you want drinks make sure to ask for this, or else i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty_katt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelXenia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Kitty_Katt2013,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Xenia for your stay in London and for taking time to write such a great review.

We are delighted that you have had a fantastic experience in our hotel. As well as enjoyed our facilities. As you so rightly mention the freshness and quality of the food is very important to us, as well as starting the day with a fresh tasty breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Xenia.

With kind regards

Greta Fsadni - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through VoyagePrive for a weekend away to celebrate our friends 50th birthday. We were very impressed with the modern boutique style decor the hotel staff were very helpful & friendly. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection & cooked breakfast choice to order instead of the buffet style which was a very nice change to normal london hotels. The bar areas & service could not be faulted the same for the rooms, with all the modern features & bathroom was well equipped with bath accessories. A lovely stay in a beautiful hotel & walking distance to the Albert Hall.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JAustin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelXenia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear JAustin66,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Xenia for your friend's 50th birthday celebration and for taking time to write a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel, we feel honoured that we were part of a 50th birthday celebration.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Xenia in the future.

With kind regards

Greta Fsadni - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,067 in London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,067 in London
606 reviews
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Address: 160 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Learning from history. Leaving a legacy. ‘Xenia’ expresses the ancient Greek concept of hospitality. It harks back to a time when people believed the Gods lived among them. So an encounter with a stranger was characterised by kindness and those far from home were warmly welcomed as friends - it was an extraordinary level of courtesy we're proud to prolong today. Defined by courtesy, refined by culture is our living motto; from the front desk staff who greets guests with a friendly smile, a Concierge team who are always on hand to help, at Xenia we offer a distinctive level of luxury. The hotel comprises 99 rooms individually appointed, two contemporary bars, a private dining room, meeting rooms and Evoluzione, a fine dining Italian restaurant that is in a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing