We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea 4 2.....Fab”
Review of The Drawing Rooms

The Drawing Rooms
Ranked #2,923 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$8 - US$41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: French finesse meets British style in The Drawing Rooms - the luxurious heart of The Ampersand Hotel serving light bites and afternoon tea in Kensington. With deep sofas and studded armchairs, scarlet velvets, and kingfisher blues, this is where the English drawing room meets the 'salon de the' - the whole instilled with a contemporary Ampersand feel. In South Kensington, it has become the place to enjoy pretty pastries, exceptional teas or fresh-pressed coffees. All-day light bites also make The Drawing Rooms popular with residents of South Kensington, as well as those who want to get together for a business meeting in a quiet corner of a discreet address. The feel is intimate yet buzzy, with a fire burning in the hearth at one end of the room. By day, sunshine pours in from outside via the large Victorian windows. The Drawing Rooms at our Kensington boutique hotel are open from 7am until 11pm Monday to Sunday. Pastries and Cakes are also available for take away. Pastries, Cakes and Tartines are available from 11am Afternoon Tea is served from 2.30Pm - 5.30Pm Champagne & Canapes and Savouries are served from 5.30Pm Classic Afternoon Tea - £25 per person, £37.50 With a glass of Champagne
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tea 4 2.....Fab”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel easy to find from South Ken station.
Loved the Venue, service good. Loved the pictures on the Wall. All very trendy and comfortable.
One of the best afternoon teas I have had.(and I have had many). The tennis ball and tennis court were delish. Yum
Will be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearl227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    43
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My mom and I had an afternoon tea at the Drawing Rooms at the Ampersand Hotel and it was a great experience! We really wanted a nice place to have a traditional tea, but didn't want it to feel stuffy, and the Drawing Rooms were perfect! We both had champagne and cream teas, and the scones were just AMAZING! They are served warm and with delicious jam and cream! Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon with great food.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Myself and 2 friends arrived at The Drawing Rooms and despite arriving 30 minutes early, we were seated anyway which was fantastic! We had the Wimbledon themed afternoon tea, and as part of an offer, were given a complimentary glass of Champagne. Very tasty! Staff were very friendly and were always there if you needed anything. More tea, cutlery etc. We loved the fact that there wasn't too much choice in terms of Teas. I have been for afternoon teas before at other places where there has been at least 3 to 4 pages full of teas to choose from. Staff also had plenty of knowledge regarding the teas on offer. The only criticism I would have is that I had the gluten free option and it unfortunately wasn't Wimbledon themed. The normal afternoon teas came with a small glass of Pimms and mine did not, even though Pimms is gluten free so I could have had this. It was a shame as I didn't enjoy the alternative that was given, so felt like I missed out a little, but it was still great that I had the gluten free option in the first place, as so many restaurants have so little if anything to offer someone with this kind of allergy. Therefore this is only a small matter that really could be overlooked as the food we did have was lovely. I especially enjoyed the gluten free plain AND fruit scones with clotted cream and jam! The hotel itself was gorgeous, very new and everything so immaculately clean and the decor was so unique. A lovely afternoon spent with friends in the perfect setting!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Em_Beswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at the Ampersand”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We wanted to celebrate a special occasion with dear friends who were visiting in London and carefully chose the hotel for location, boutique style and service.
The hotel is in great locate and walking distance from the tube station, very modern stylish and funky. The staff friendly and helpful , however a bit insecure to handle customers.
The afternoon tea its self was ok, but not what you normally expect, the sandwiches were made of baguette and had a hard crust that could hardly be cut, the scones, clotted cream and preserves were ok, the sweets agin were average. Spending 125 GBP on this seemed very overpriced and not the expected quality level.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Had vegetarian tea here!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was nice to find a place serving vegetarian tea. The scones were delicious!! I brought my teenage son and he really enjoyed it as well. The atmosphere is really nice-small, nice colors, relaxing, and not stuffy. Just perfect. Our service was great. One of the 4 types of sandwiches was just meh, but the other 3 were super!!! Nice selection of sweets with the tea. I thought it was a little pricey to add the champagne, but did so anyway. After all, why not indulge on vacation!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Drawing Rooms also viewed

London, England
 

Been to The Drawing Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing