We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Spoons Pub”
Review of The Gate Clock

The Gate Clock
Ranked #1,053 of 1,630 Quick Bites in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Greenwich
Reviewed 23 August 2017

the Clock Gate is your typical Wetherspoons pub, Reasonable priced drinks and food in good clean friendly environment

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank TheRedTraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Visited here yesterday afternoon. Stood in a queue that wasn't moving although others were. The man at the front of our queue questioned when he would be served only to be told he was rude and wouldn't be served! Seems you can't fairly complain- unbelievable .
In my book bar staff should be able to identify who's been waiting the longest. All bar staff here do not posses this talent.
Weatherspoons you need to train staff or choose better applicants

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank GeorgeTanner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateclock, Manager at The Gate Clock, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback I'm very sorry you felt that way I believe Saturday was extremely busy and the bar staff were working extremely hard unfortunately from time to time there is an unusual long wait, this is not what our intention is. Our staff are trained exceptionally well unfortunately when there is a lot of customers it's difficult I hope this doesn't stop u from coming to our pub, if you feel any further concerns feel free to contact us direct

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Yes, it was Weatherspoon again. This time the location was in Greenwich. It was near the popular tourist sites. Here we spent economically and still could have a delicious meal. We have a sirloin steak, chips and lager beer. The point was not how much it costed but I loved the atmosphere. It was lively and joyful and no need to pretend to be rich or luxurious, or to be differentiated by classes. Different stratum of people came here for chatting and waffling. The surrounding was very traditionally english, or you thought it was very weatherspoon, but it was comfortable ,even the toilets was keeping very clean!
After visiting the historic famous British clipper ship Cutty Sark, beautiful royal green observatory green park, National Maritime Museum, you may come here ,take a rest and have a cup of cool lager.
I love here . It is a real way of life.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Bopslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

A nice, decent sized pub close to the DLR station. Had a good pint here, it wasn't busy at the time but could imagine it getting crowded in the evenings.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ojrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The food is bad. But the worst aspect of the restaurant is the staff. The cooks and waiter scream! In fact if you go during the lunch you will hear a terrible noise from the kitchen. I ate an hamburger of low quality.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank 1antonego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate Clock also viewed

 

Been to The Gate Clock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing