We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Tanner and Co

Tanner and Co
Ranked #4,407 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Description: Welcome to Tanner & Co - a restaurant, bar and warehouse events venue located in Bermondsey, South London. Swing by for early breakfasts and pick-me-up coffees. Settle in for bottomless brunch, or hard-earned lunch breaks. Savour ‘just because’ date-night dinners, complete with artisanal wines, or get together with friends over bespoke cocktails.
Rickmansworth
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

While the waiters were excellent (very friendly and attentive, though not enough of them so service was slow), and the atmosphere was buzzing, the food was not worth the high prices charged - although the Scotch egg was fantastic. The fish and especially the chips were so caked in salt they were practically inedible; could still taste the salt three hours after we ate. Shame because was good atmosphere, and I am sure the food would have been better if we could have tasted it rather than just salt. And - the toilets were genuinely absolutely disgusting, didn't match the trendy ambiance upstairs at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanSan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    113
    63
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow and bad service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had a voucher for lunch for 4. We had already check the place out a couple of weeks before and was told the voucher menu changed everyday. So we chose Monday to have the menu that included the cheese and bacon burger, On arrival they really didn't know what to do with the voucher, they gave us the lunch special which didn't include the burger. We waited 35 mins before they asked us if we wanted a drink, which was included in the voucher, although they did give us the bottle of water. The service was appalling. We did ask if we could have the burger but was told this was not on offer. The food was OK, but we were all looking forward to the cheese and burger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury st edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pie and steak”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good place to eat if you want a tasty pie or a delicious steak. Cocktails are also very interesting with interesting combinations of flavours. Pie doesn't come with vegetables or potatoes though, which is a bit stingy?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Baffled in Bermondsey!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I am not sure what this rather quirky place is trying to be. Not British for sure, as it serves no real ale. Lager only on tap, and the only other beers seemed to be US bottled imports. What's that about?? We didn't want a full lunch, so ordered the meat platter. Plenty of meat for two, and very tasty, served with gherkins and insufficient bread. We asked for more, which seemed to take an age to arrive, but was not charged for. The place is huge, and was not busy on a bank holiday Monday lunch, which somewhat surprised us. I cannot comment on any of the other food available, though we did see one guy drinking his soup from what looked like an enamel mug!! Is someone trying to be original or what? Meat platter and two small bottles of beer: Total bill £28.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buffshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Buzz and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was a great place to enjoy a meal in a very interesting atmosphere.
The service was attentive and quick. We were presented with a bottle of water (no charge) almost as soon as we sat down.
The surroundings are reminiscent of an old school gym, with wooden tables and thick climbing ropes, hanging from the ceiling. A triumph of design, creating a unique atmosphere.
The food was delicious, rib eye steak, cooked just as requested and a burger that may need Sherpas to reach it's summit!
We loved our food and the whole experience.
We'd certainly rerun and recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanner and Co also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Tanner and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing