We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Duck!!!”
Review of Hutong

Hutong
Reserve a table
Ranked #2,734 of 25,777 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Description: Situated on level 33 of The Shard, Hutong serves the fascinating and diverse cuisines of Northern China and is based on the much-loved restaurant of the same name in Hong Kong. Hutong’s cuisine takes its inspiration from the dishes served in the imperial palaces of what was then Peking. Based on the ‘Lu school’ cuisine of Shandong Province, the menu artfully captures the subtlety and surprises of Northern Chinese cooking. A cocktail selection inspired by ingredients used in Chinese cooking and stunning interior, complete with traditional Chinese red lanterns and beautiful hand-carved wood-panelled ‘Moon Gates’, offer London diners a new destination restaurant with panoramic views over London’s skyline.
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Loved the Peking Duck!!!! Chef that sliced it was amazing. It came in 2 courses which is what it should be...just missing a soup made with the bones to complete it. Other stuff was just ok.

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
8  Thank NYCinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (7,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,440 of 7,277 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016

What a stunning place to conclude a graduation ceremony, from the moment we entered the Shard we were welcomed professionally and with courtesy, on exciting at the 33rd level, what stunning historical views feasted our eyes, the feast did not end there, next stop 5 professionally mixed cocktails where made and enjoyed. We where then escorted to our table, amazing our site seeing evening just got better. Now the menu's we all ordered something different, any questions we had about the menu, where answered fully and with accuracy, nobody was disappointed, the portions plentiful and we'll presented. Thank you Hutong

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
9  Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We had the set menu which was delicious and the service was excellent but although we expected it to be expensive because of the location it did not feel value for money.

Date of visit: July 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
5  Thank mariacody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Loved our drinks here last night. Amazing bar team, delicious drinks and a great view - 5* experience and will be back soon.

Date of visit: July 2016
8  Thank Mjcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016

What a disappointing experience. Sullen girls on reception who do not engage with you at all. Service very slow between every course. The view is great(although not that great to the east) but the room itself is cold and lacks any personality.
We went for the £35 set lunch. Soup came first quite bland and tasteless. Main course inedible due to ridiculous quantities of chilli. Pudding not included but we had it because they had forgotten to give us our starters! Mango pudding was lovely. Simply not good enough and what a waste of the brilliant building. I would happily pay the £95 for a decent meal but you can get sensational food all over London for that price so having thought what a great place it would be for my wedding anniversary I now need to think again

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hutong also viewed

 

Been to Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.