We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the original book”
Review of Woman in Black

Woman in Black
Ranked #115 of 346 Concerts & Shows in London
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like the original book”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you are expecting to see the abysmal Hammer House Of horror type recent movie of this film (like one reviewer seems to think is based on the original film) then don't waste your money or time. If you wish to see the theatre version of the original film then go. Don't expect a full scale production this is a pared down version of the original book. It really makes me laugh when people assume that the recent film version is based on the book. It is not. The book is far better. If you really love the book you will see this regardless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MaliaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    107
    40
    50
    51
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful and Boring”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is the worse play I have ever seen. Nothing like the film . It was so boring and dull that I wanted to leave at the interval. This play is an absolute joke and very disappointing.
This play was not scary. It was stupid. The acting was poor and found it difficult to follow the cstory.` The theatre is small and seats are very uncomfortable with poor leg room. Don't waste your money on this production. If you want to see a worthwile show , go and see the Bodyguard or Dirty dancing

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank douglas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very underwhelming performance”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I love the theatre and the film/book is very scary - this was dull, very bad acting and I could not wait for it to be over!
A huge disappointment - also the seating is extremely bad. No room, and very steep.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lister_natalie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Be ready for a fright”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This play is really good, well written, and really scared the life out of me and certain points.

To be fair, I'm not the bravest of souls at the best of times, it's suitable for older kids and not too scarey but it does make you gasp, scream, and hold on to your friends arm like a wimp!

Worth the trip into London

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZedA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Go and see this spooky play!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed this play and would recommend it to people who like a good live scare! I would definitely suggest getting seats in the main part of the theatre so that you can see everything, as there are some things happening within the audience. We sat on the back row... Which was terrifying!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woman in Black also viewed

 

Been to Woman in Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing