We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Woman in Black

Woman in Black
Ranked #114 of 344 Concerts & Shows in London
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Even though there's only 2 actors, the play was fantastic! Very cleverly put together and they created a spectacular environment. It was genuinely scary for me! So enjoyable! Would highly recommend it and would happily see it again! If you are reading the reviews before booking id suggest getting a downstairs seat (stalls) I was in row C and could see everything brilliantly but don't think the people upstairs would have been able to see it all as well as I did.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank char_coyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    105
    37
    44
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The acting (only 2 actors) is brilliant but the production its self is poor. Watch it if you have nothing else to watch.

Good points
- Theatre small nice and cosy
- Best leg room seats I have ever come across
- Stall seats are great.
- A/C
- Excellent acting. Some excitement at the end

Bad Points
- Script is average at best.
- Acoustics not that good. If you are at the back seats it might be difficult to hear
- It is quite boring in the first half
- Few props

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rise_Of_the_Tigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Totally Fantastic! Some people don't appreciate real talent!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was a fantastic play in a great little theatre. So much better than the film. It really is a great experience and very clever and scary- one of the best things I have seen.

I don't normaly write reviews but had to. Also to clear up 3 previous comments.
1) The acting was sensational- the person that said the acting was terrible obviously is not a real theatre goer or an appreciator of true talent. They probably consider Big Brother classic viewing!
2) The person that said it was bad as it wasn't like the film. I like the film, but this was much more enjoyable.
3) The person that said go and see The Bodyguard or Dirty dancing obviously doesn't appreciate differnt genres of theatrical entertainment as they are totally different.

This was a real gem with fantastic acting and was scary in many places. My 13 year old daughter loved it and found it jumpy and scary. What a great performance well done to everyb ody involved. The person that said it is enjoyable hearing the scared teenagers is so right as it adds to it all.
Yes the theatre is small - but is a differnt experience. I didnt notice the seat being uncomfortbale or not like some, I was enjoying the show and didn't expect a memory foam slumber experience here. C hill lovers and proper theatre goers- ENJOY. We all did a lot!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mrteacher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like the original book”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you are expecting to see the abysmal Hammer House Of horror type recent movie of this film (like one reviewer seems to think is based on the original film) then don't waste your money or time. If you wish to see the theatre version of the original film then go. Don't expect a full scale production this is a pared down version of the original book. It really makes me laugh when people assume that the recent film version is based on the book. It is not. The book is far better. If you really love the book you will see this regardless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MaliaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful and Boring”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is the worse play I have ever seen. Nothing like the film . It was so boring and dull that I wanted to leave at the interval. This play is an absolute joke and very disappointing.
This play was not scary. It was stupid. The acting was poor and found it difficult to follow the cstory.` The theatre is small and seats are very uncomfortable with poor leg room. Don't waste your money on this production. If you want to see a worthwile show , go and see the Bodyguard or Dirty dancing

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank douglas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woman in Black also viewed

 

Been to Woman in Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing