We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

The Royal Quarter Cafe
Ranked #7,640 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Westminster
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went one morning for breakfast. Service was good enough, although I was shown to a table that still had the remains of someone else's breakfast on the floor. Get the dustpan and brush out!

Had Eggs Benedict which was cooked OK (eggs were still runny) but it was cold. Don't use cold ham direct from the fridge - warm it up under the grill first!

Too expensive for what it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    97
    63
    40
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went on a farewell group outing only to be highly disappointed by the whole experience. The bread was very dry and my cucumber sandwich consisted of a 1 cm slice, this was including the rind. We went for the High Tea with Champagne. Some of our group were served cloudy champagne and on questioning the quality of the product, we were told that this was organic. Going back to the Tea, the scones were not fully cooked in the middle and therefore inedible. We received no apology from the staff and left feeling that we had a bad experience. I have had High Tea before and would not consider going back to this Café.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service wasn't good food worse”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staying in London for 4 days decided to grab a bite to eat at this cafe. The food was shocking didn't eat it. They need to up their game

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3ofusAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hmm...ever heard of customer service?”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this cafe twice in one week. The first visit was quite good. We had lovely breakfasts. Service was okay.
Their french toast looked pretty good on the first visit so I wanted to return even though I knew cafe to be slighty overpriced. The second time we waited at the door to be seated as busy (we did this also on first visit) and we were basically ignored for about 5 mins. Nobody even made eye contact though with us...bizarre. This was also the case for two ladies on front of us. They left...and shortly afterwards we did too. What a strange way to operate?! They obviously didn't need the custom! What was worse was that there was a manager or supervisor there too so not just part time waiting staff...
Oh well we had a nice breakfast down the road.....wierd!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandsles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, went back for breakfast”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was an accomplished café serving not quite standard fare. If you are looking ofr a celebratory meal this is not the place, if you want a good simple lunch or breakfast this works. I had the salt beef on caraway bread and a side order of fries for lunch. The salt beef was good - I make my own so I know how good it can taste - there could have been more filling but the amount was sufficient. I might have wanted a pickle but that would be kvetching just for show. The fries were crisp, dry and excellent.
I went back for breakfast and had some really good eggs benedict. The hollandaise seemed home made. There was a twist not using an English muffin and instead toasted wheat bread but that was nice. The poached the eggs perfectly which seems difficult for most London cafes. The orange juice was actually freshly squeezed and excellent and tea was a pot load not a cup or mug. Good value for London and quite delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrIanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Quarter Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Royal Quarter Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing